Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Contributor
cea-tech
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

GPS Password disable

I installed BPS last week and everything is working ok.

The Curve 8310 comes with the Telemap Navigator and 24 month subscription. One of the users came back with a problem when using the Navigator software. He can add a route and get it downloaded. After driving for a little while (can't remember the timeout) the screen blanks out and he has to enter his password to get the screen back. Not the easiest thing to do when driving.

 

There is apparently a setting or IT policy that disables the password request when the GPS services are running. I've looked around for "blackberry disable password on GPS" and various other phrases but can't find anything.

 

Do you know how to do this or point the light to where I could find the correct information?

 

Thanks Robert

Please use plain text.
New Member
biker63
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GPS Password disable

I am trying to find the same policy setting.

 

Did you ever find out where it was set?

Please use plain text.
Contributor
cea-tech
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GPS Password disable

I asked in a couple of forums but nothing. One of the users emailled Telemap support asking about the IT policy. I thought they would be able to let us know what seeting to change but no. Contact RIM or your BES administrator.

 

If I find out I'll post the answer.

 

Robert

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran I
BBsingh
Posts: 1,546
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: 8120, Storm, 8200

Re: GPS Password disable

there is no such policy. i will be glad to know if ther is one.

*****************************************************************************
Click on KUDOS to appreciate our efforts and mark the thread RESOLVED if your issue is resolved.
Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
AndyDufresne
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: GPS Password disable


BBsingh wrote:

there is no such policy. i will be glad to know if ther is one.


nope; no where :-/

 

BES IT Policy Reference Guide

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Please use plain text.
Contributor
cea-tech
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GPS Password disable

Here is the reason I got onto the IT policy.

 

and this is the reply from Telenavigator support

 

"In order to ensure that you have the correct application permissions allowed through the proxy server, we recommend contacting either your operator BES support or RIM. You can then get exact configuration settings for your BES server version. As we are not trained to support BES servers, we would not be able to advise on these settings.

 

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any queries."

 

Thanks

 

Robert

 

 

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran I
BBsingh
Posts: 1,546
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: 8120, Storm, 8200

Re: GPS Password disable

as it says in the link posted by you that 'There ia an IT policy to disable password while using GPS for 4.1.4 and above' . Telemap must have tested this before posting it externally, i guess you ask them where is that policy. This seems to be wrong info.
*****************************************************************************
Click on KUDOS to appreciate our efforts and mark the thread RESOLVED if your issue is resolved.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
cea-tech
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GPS Password disable

I did and this is their reply.

 

"In order to ensure that you have the correct application permissions allowed through the proxy server, we recommend contacting either your operator BES support or RIM. You can then get exact configuration settings for your BES server version. As we are not trained to support BES servers, we would not be able to advise on these settings.

 

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any queries"

 

I was expecting a "how to" but they've just passed it back to yourselves.

 

I feel like piggy in the middle

 

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran I
BBsingh
Posts: 1,546
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: 8120, Storm, 8200

Re: GPS Password disable

as far as i kno wand the forums, and also if you go through the policy guide, there is no such policy. you can take the password policy for this one user and tell them not to use BB while driving :smileyhappy:
*****************************************************************************
Click on KUDOS to appreciate our efforts and mark the thread RESOLVED if your issue is resolved.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
cea-tech
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GPS Password disable

Yesterday I phoned Telmap support.

 

I told them about the problems we were having and the RIM knew nothing of any such IT policy that would disable the screen locking.

 

The answer I was given was this.

 

I have two options. I can either have the timeout on the blackberries or not.

 

To use the telmap software I would have to disable the timeout for all our BB users ot not use the telmap software.

 

Complete waste of an application.

 

Is there any way that RIM could add a setting to disable the password if GPS service was running? Don't know how easy it would be.

 

Thanks

 

Robert

Please use plain text.