Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
alldwepak
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-22-2011
My Device: 9300 3G

Re: How do I delete duplicate contacts from Blackberry Storm?

I have tried this any idea how long it would take? hope it works, also , how and where can you find the BAS service to resend service book
Allan Martin
New Contributor
alldwepak
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-22-2011
My Device: 9300 3G

Re: How do I delete duplicate contacts from Blackberry Storm?

didnt really work, back to square 1, can sombody help, i downloaded an address book app and my contacts are all ****************....
Allan Martin
New Contributor
childan
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-12-2010
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: How do I delete duplicate contacts from Blackberry Storm?

I use ODIR - very effective and free-

 

http://www.vaita.com/ODIR.asp

 

 

 

New Contributor
pokerface262
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-27-2011
My Device: curve & 8520

Re: How do I delete duplicate contacts from Blackberry Storm?

 To clear this issue up I took these simple steps: On the Blackberry, open the contacts and go to your options. (Menu -> Options) Simply type: rset The device will prompt you to delete the local list and re-populate from the server, choose yes. (Probably a good idea to make a backup of the contacts on the server) After a few minutes the device downloaded the contacts again and the duplicates were gone!

New Contributor
kodyleonard
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-30-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How do I delete duplicate contacts from Blackberry Storm?

This worked for me when it happened.  What a relief not to have to do it manually:

 

http://bluescreensolutions.blogspot.com/2009/12/duplicate-contacts-on-blackberry-using.html

 

the key thing is only to do this if you're using the professional server and not if you're just a user not connected to the corporate services.

Retired
akinsella
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎11-21-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9790

Re: How do I delete duplicate contacts from Blackberry Storm?

I'm a RIM guy and didn't know about menu > options> rset - thanks!!!

Alex Kinsella @alexkinsella
Senior PR and Social Media Manager
Research In Motion
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,785
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: How do I delete duplicate contacts from Blackberry Storm?


akinsella wrote:

I'm a RIM guy and didn't know about menu > options> rset - thanks!!!


It also work in calendar too to reset it

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Member
amitmittal
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-19-2010
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8520

Re: How do I delete duplicate contacts from Blackberry Storm?

on contacts / options ....where can one type rst - I have a BB Bold 9900 and dont get an option to type anything on the screen which appears after options....tget a contact display and actions option, recent activities and contact lists as options to choose from and none of these allowing any typing of txt. 

New Member
KyleMorgan
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
My Device: 9900

Re: How do I delete duplicate contacts from Blackberry Storm?

I also have the Bold 9900. Its not an option just go to contacts-> menu-> options and type rset a window will popup that asks if you'd like to sync from the server or not.
I did this when I needed my gmail contacts re-synced and it worked perfectly