Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

New Contributor
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: O2

Installing BES without a direct internet connection.

HI All,

I am a complete newby to BES and have been dropped into installiing BES on a new installation which has some strict security principles.

I am trying to install BES Express within a core network which does not have direct internet connection. Connections to the internet can only be made from the DMZ which is where I will be installing a remote router.

When trying to install the BES server I cannot get past the verifying SRP page due to the the installer not be being able to connect to the SRP network. (I used a local host file to provide name resolution of the srp address).

Is what I am trying to achieve possible or will I have to allow the internal BES server access to the internet (by jumping through lots of info Assurance hoops). Can it be removed after the install and when a remote router is installed in the DMZ.

Happy for any assistance in my quandry.

Thanks in anticipation

Andy

New Contributor
My Device: Blackberry 9700
My Carrier: Wind Italy

Re: Installing BES without a direct internet connection.

You absolutely need ad internet connection active on BES server because one of the modules called Blackberry Router will need to connect to blackberry systems otherwise mails will not be sent to mobile phones.

You need 3101/TCP port open in output for Blackberry BES server.

If you read carefully installing istructions you can find these info :smileyhappy:

New Contributor

Thanks for the reply and I appreciate the RTFM advice:Yes: