Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Member
paklun
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-27-2013
My Device: BES Admin
Accepted Solution

Set BES Express onto a virtual machine?

I am gonna setup a brand new BES Express for my company.

And here are my config:

 

Windows Server 2008 with Exchange 2010

BES Express will be installed seperately into a workstation(which i will buy for my company)

Server will support less than 75 blackbnerry users

 

Here's  problem i encounter:

 

I know not if I should set BES Express onto a virtual machine

what are the PROS and CONS either way?

 

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
oliwer
Posts: 581
Registered: ‎05-23-2008
My Device: BB10 and WiFi PB

Re: Set BES Express onto a virtual machine?

BES does not support Workstation OS - you need a server OS-

And there are no special Pros and Cons for a BES in a virtual machine other then Pros and Cons of a virtual machine in general
Please use plain text.
New Member
paklun
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-27-2013
My Device: BES Admin

Re: Set BES Express onto a virtual machine?

thank you very much, so i am gonna install server 2008 r2 and BES Express 5.0.3 on a server is enough? no virtual machine required? thanks
Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
oliwer
Posts: 581
Registered: ‎05-23-2008
My Device: BB10 and WiFi PB

Re: Set BES Express onto a virtual machine?

You can install BES Express on the Windows Server (even on the server with your Exchange if you really want to). If you have a virtual machine, you can use that as well - for BES its not a real difference.
Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,609
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Set BES Express onto a virtual machine?

If not listed here dont try it.

 

Blackberry Enterprise Server compatibility chart
http://us.blackberry.com/support/software/server_compatibility.jsp#tab_tab_compatibility

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Please use plain text.
New Member
paklun
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-27-2013
My Device: BES Admin

Re: Set BES Express onto a virtual machine?

Thank you all!!!

Please use plain text.