Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,110
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Should I be worried?

Knife edge Cutover works well.

 

Here are my notes on it when I did it.

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/rim/board/message?board.id=BlackBerryEnterpriseSolution&thread.i...

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
Contributor
srodriguez
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Should I be worried?

Don't I need to release the license from the current server? I just want to make sure because in another migration to a SBS 2008 box, we lost the license to a software that was installed in the old box because we did not release it... I don't remember what we ended up doing but that sucked
Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,110
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Should I be worried?

There is nothing to release that I am aware of. 

 

All the license info is in the database. Make sure you have a back up of it.

 

Also SQL express is much nicer than MSDE.

 

 

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,110
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Should I be worried?

How to move the data base

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB03112

 

SQL express is almost same as SQL

 

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
AndyDufresne
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Should I be worried?


knottyrope wrote:

How to move the data base

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB03112

 

SQL express is almost same as SQL

 

 

 


database is one word.

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,110
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Should I be worried?

Knot in elephant world

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
Contributor
srodriguez
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Should I be worried?

In our case, we only have 2 devices and I am 95% sure we have not made any custom settings on the software to deploy to the devices. Would we better off doing a fresh install on the new server so that maybe we can start off following best practices with our new network? or is a knife edge cutover the best, least painful solution out there?

 

 Please advice. 

 

Thanks!

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
AndyDufresne
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Should I be worried?

If you've got 2 devices and you don't mine wiping and reactivating and starting from scratch then I'd do it.

 

Nothing like a fresh install ... just depends on how picky those 2 users are.

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Please use plain text.
Contributor
srodriguez
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Should I be worried?

Well they are fairly picky, AND it's the owner of the company and his wife, so you can imagine....

I was reading the installation guides and they mention to open port 3101. Is this how the phones communicate with the BPS server?

 

We are doing a lot of planning right now and want to get all the documentation I can get.

 

thanks much!

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
AndyDufresne
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Should I be worried?


srodriguez wrote:

Well they are fairly picky, AND it's the owner of the company and his wife, so you can imagine....

I was reading the installation guides and they mention to open port 3101. Is this how the phones communicate with the BPS server?

 

We are doing a lot of planning right now and want to get all the documentation I can get.

 

thanks much!


 

BPS/BES communicates with the RIM infrastructure on TCP Port 3101.  The only firewall change you need to make is Port 3101 needs to be open OUTBOUND ... it does not need to be port forwarded inbound.

 

KB03735 - Firewall and connection requirements for the BlackBerry Enterprise Server

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Please use plain text.