Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

Reply
New Contributor
bprotte
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-07-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone

BDS OTA Activation Error

We have installed a BES10 Server. The activation over the internal WLAN works fine but when we try to activate over the Internet the activation progress stops when the device try to change to a secure connection. Ports are correct and open. We found out that the issue is the fqdn of the server. The internal Active Directory domain is xxx.local - the external xxx.de .. when the activation change to a secure connection the device try to access the server at bes10.xxx.local but over the internet the server is only available under bes10.xxx.de.

How can I fix that?

 

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor (Retired)
FrankieS
Posts: 2,795
Registered: ‎05-10-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 smartphone

Re: BDS OTA Activation Error

Hi bprotte,

 

Welcome to the BlackBerry Support Community.

Does the email profile in the BlackBerry Device Service have an externally available server address for the messaging server?  If your Active Sync is external facing, can you please use the following link to verify that the informaton you are using is correct?

https://www.testexchangeconnectivity.com/

 

Please let me know if that helps.


-FS


 


Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp


Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



Please use plain text.
New Contributor
bprotte
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-07-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: BDS OTA Activation Error

Thank you for your Answer! It seems that the active sync connection isn't the problem. While the activationpgrogress the device trys to connect the BDS server at the internal domain name not the active sync server.
The activation over the srpid doesn't work at all. I must enter the external bds10 dns name then the activation stops at the secure conncetion. In wireshark we can see that the device is trying to access the internal adress.
Please use plain text.
Administrator (Retired)
FozzieBear
Posts: 2,372
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 smartphone

Re: BDS OTA Activation Error

Hello bprotte,

 

Create a test activation by using the advanced activation method for OTA as listed below:

 

1. Create an activation password on BDS

2. On the device follow the below steps.
3. Go to Settings -> Accounts -> Add account -> Advanced (at the bottom) -> Work Account
4. For the server address try using the SRP of the BDS server and let us know if that works.


-FB


 


Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp


Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click "Accept as a Solution" for posts that have solved your issue(s)!


Please use plain text.
New Contributor
bprotte
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-07-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: BDS OTA Activation Error

Already tried .. the Activation using the SRP ID doesnt work.
Please use plain text.
Administrator (Retired)
SmoothRider
Posts: 2,649
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: 9500, 8110, 8700, 8220, 9100, 9800, 9810, Z10

Re: BDS OTA Activation Error

Hello bprotte

 

We have a few more questions for you. 

 

  1. In the email profile for the BDS activation what server address have you added for the messaging server, internal or external?
  2. Are you able to perform an ActiveSync activation with the device with BDS out of the picture, utilizing the device external data source i.e. carrier data connection?
  3. In your previous response “Thank you for your Answer! It seems that the active sync connection isn't the problem” is that a confirmation that you ran the ActiveSync test and it passed?

 

-SR

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
bprotte
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-07-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: BDS OTA Activation Error

We've now installed the 10.1 Update an now we can activate the Devices over the SRP ID. The configuration is the same as on 10.0.
Please use plain text.