Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

Reply
New Contributor
yuskeseliev
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
My Device: 9800
My Carrier: Globul

BES 10 - Device plans and HA

Hi all,

 

we are currently gathering information for deploying BES 10 solution and I`m trying to find definitive information regarding 2 question:

 

- Will BB10 devices require special BES plan to connect to BES10?

- Is there HA guide for BDS part of BES 10?

 

Thank you for your help

Best Regards,

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
oliwer
Posts: 581
Registered: ‎05-23-2008
My Device: BB10 and WiFi PB
My Carrier: .

Re: BES 10 - Device plans and HA

No Dataplan required to connect to the current BES10 (see http://crackberry.com/no-you-dont-need-bis-plan-blackberry-10-phones)

And there is no build in HA for BES10. It will come in a future version, until then you could use VM technology or install a second BDS and move users manually from one server to another when one is down.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
yuskeseliev
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
My Device: 9800
My Carrier: Globul

Re: BES 10 - Device plans and HA

Thank you oliwer,

 

Do you know if I go with second BDS option do I need second license ?

 

Regards,

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
oliwer
Posts: 581
Registered: ‎05-23-2008
My Device: BB10 and WiFi PB
My Carrier: .

Re: BES 10 - Device plans and HA

You will need a second SRP ID, but SRP IDs are for free. Just request a second trial. SRP ID will not expire.
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor
-BD-
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎05-15-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: BES 10 - Device plans and HA

DR can be accomplished with the same SRP info.  Page 61 of the administration guide covers what is needed.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
yuskeseliev
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
My Device: 9800
My Carrier: Globul

Re: BES 10 - Device plans and HA

Yep I saw it, but the time for recovery from complete failure will be quite extended :smileysad:
Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
oliwer
Posts: 581
Registered: ‎05-23-2008
My Device: BB10 and WiFi PB
My Carrier: .

Re: BES 10 - Device plans and HA

Sorry for not mentioning DR, but question was for HA :smileytongue:
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor
-BD-
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎05-15-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: BES 10 - Device plans and HA

Ya I was sticking with what is currently available :smileyhappy:

 

HA is on the roadmap and coming.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
1magine67
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
My Device: 9850
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BES 10 - Device plans and HA

I have been following this story since January when our rep first brought the Z-10 for our review.  Virtually every A-list law firm requires HA.  We can not deploy without it, and our users will not buy z-10s until they can put them on the network.  An April release for HA was silly when they told us in January, and it is still silly 3months later.  Many tech departments who have been on a MDM system as well as BES until now have seen BBs as a share of our ecosystem plummet.  Now our z-10 test units arrive this week, like they do accross many firms in the USA, and I'm afraid there will not be enough units that peek enough interest to make the continuing use of BES worthwhile.

Please use plain text.