Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

New Contributor
bammer
My Device: Z10

BES 10 Enterprise Admins... A ? about how to handle device OS updates

DefaultBES 10 Enterprise Admins... A ? about how to handle device OS updates
I'm a fairly new BB administrator responsible for approx. 400 Z10s in an enterprise environment. Just a little info on our current setup: BES 10.1.1, ActiveSync, BB Balance, Verizon Z10s. Most everything has been running well with one exception as of late... users are now being prompted for device OS update (10.2.1.537) which seems to be causing issues.  On BES I have the setting for "Wireless Software Updates" to disallow hoping this would prevent users from updating themselves which it is not doing. Users not being patient enough interrupting update process, starting update on low battery power, etc. causing frozen BBs or in some cases bricked phones. Our users do not have access to corporate Wi-Fi or Blackberry Link on their assigned computers so options are limited. Understanding BES 10 cannot, as of yet, push out device OS updates how do you handle these updates on an enterprise level? So far all I've come up with is having users hand in their Z10s to IT so that we can update properly but honestly that's a huge headache for both IT staff and end-users. I appreciate your suggestions and opinions. Brian
Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BES 10 Enterprise Admins... A ? about how to handle device OS updates