Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-13-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Bold
My Carrier: AT&T
Accepted Solution

BlackBerry Administration Not Updating

We moved the SQL database a month ago. Since that time, we can log into the Administration Service, but it is not updating. No one noticed this until we tried to add a new user, and could not. However, no BlackBerries have had any issues. Somehow it looks like the Administration Service is pointing to the old database (that's just my theory). Any ideas?

Forums Advisor I
Posts: 652
Registered: ‎05-23-2008
My Device: BB10 and WiFi PB
My Carrier: .

Re: BlackBerry Administration Not Updating

Did you run the installer of BES and BAS again after the database move? If not: you have to and point to the new database.
------------------------------
Find more information about Enterprise Mobility Management at EMMAdmin.com
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-13-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Bold
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: BlackBerry Administration Not Updating

Yes I did re-run per the RIM KB. I forgot to mention it's part of an high availability situation. I'm wondering if somehow the second server is setup incorrectly and/or the pool is looking at the second server which isn't updated.

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-21-2010
My Device: 9700 bold
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: BlackBerry Administration Not Updating

What database is it showing on BES Server Config ? New or old one? 

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-13-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Bold
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: BlackBerry Administration Not Updating

New, but when I log into the webconsole, it looks like it's connecting to the old. I say that because the last contact time shows as just before we cutover to the new SQL server.

Guru III
Posts: 31,315
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BlackBerry Administration Not Updating

Check these 4 keys to see if current SQL is listed

 

HKEY_CURRENT_USER
> SOFTWARE
>>RESEARCH IN MOTION
>>>BLACKBERRY ENTERPRISE SERVER
>>>>DATABASE
=====DatabaseServerMachineName:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
> SOFTWARE
>>Wow6432Node
>>RESEARCH IN MOTION
>>>BLACKBERRY ENTERPRISE SERVER
>>>>DATABASE
=====DatabaseServerMachineName:

HKEY_USERS:
>S-1-5-21-1600150946-976098915-2076119496-17392
>> SOFTWARE
>>>RESEARCH IN MOTION
>>>>BLACKBERRY ENTERPRISE SERVER
>>>>>DATABASE
=====DatabaseServerMachineName:

HKEY_USERS:
>S-1-5-21-1600150946-976098915-2076119496-500
>> SOFTWARE
>>>RESEARCH IN MOTION
>>>>BLACKBERRY ENTERPRISE SERVER
>>>>>DATABASE
=====DatabaseServerMachineName:

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-13-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Bold
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: BlackBerry Administration Not Updating

The last registry key still pointed to the old one. Should I just update the value in the registry editor? Then what?

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-13-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Bold
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: BlackBerry Administration Not Updating

I updated the Registry Entry that was incorrect, and restarted the BAS and the BAS-NCC services, and I'm still getting old data. Thanks for the help so far, I'm sure that last registry entry was important.

Guru III
Posts: 31,315
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BlackBerry Administration Not Updating

I know many that have done it with regedit

 

RIM reccomends running the installer.

 

your choice

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-13-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Bold
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: BlackBerry Administration Not Updating

Thanks for everyone's help.

 

I'm not sure what solved it, but here's what I did.

 

1) Made sure that all registry entries were correct per knottyrope's suggestion. I did find some incorrect entries.

2) Ran the installation again on both the Primary and Backup BES. Both worked without significant errors.

 

Once I ran the install on both machines, after a few minutes, we were able to log into the BES admin console, and the information was updated. We added a user successfully as well. I should note that initially the web browser wouldn't connect, but after 15 minutes or so, and thereafter, we could connect just fine.

 

Thanks for all of the help.