Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

Reply
New Contributor
tbibler
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: Verizon

Cannot activate phone trhough Enterprise Server

HI  I am new to the boards.

 

I have a user that would like to get his e-mail on his Blackberry Curve, we have tried several thing with the Enterprise server but with no luck.

 

I think the isse is with the TLS settings.   On my Curve I can change the TLS default from Proxy to Handheld but on the users curve we cannot change the TLS setting from Handheld to Proxy.  Is there a reset for this somewhere or is this another problen that I am not seeing.

 

We are using Blackberry Enterprise Server and Exchange with the users using Outlook 2007.

 

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

 

T

TBibler
Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 29,671
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Cannot activate phone trhough Enterprise Server

Check your BES version number

1) Go to the Add or Remove Programs Control Panel applet (Start > Run > appwiz.cpl )

2) Locate the reference to "BlackBerry Enterprise Server", select it and then click "Click here for support information.".

3) The publisher listed should be "Research In Motion" and the Version will be the exact version of BES currently installed.

Also you can learn more about the MR level with the bundle number too.

Let us know what you have

 

 

Also

 

For BES dataplan testing.

 

 

Want to check if a device is provisioned correctly?
Sign up for free to the BlackBerry Expert Support Center.

https://www.blackberry.com/besc/dashboard/

Then use the Enterprise Activation Readiness tool.

All at absolutely no cost to you or your organization!

The BESC gives you a suite of valuable tools, and includes a Complimentary Support Incident should you need to contact BlackBerry Technical Support directly.




 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
New Contributor
tbibler
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Cannot activate phone trhough Enterprise Server

HI

 

We are on V.5.0.2

Bundle 36

 

 

Why on my Blackberry can I change the TLS default and I cannot on the users?

The users only gives me the Handheld.

 

Thanks in advance

T

TBibler
Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 29,671
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Cannot activate phone trhough Enterprise Server

is it a new device or has it been on a BES before?

Is the dataplan ok?

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
New Contributor
tbibler
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Cannot activate phone trhough Enterprise Server

It has never been on our BES

 

Is the dataplan displayed in the phone /phone invoice or do I need to contact  Verizon?

(Silly question I know. But newbie I am.)

 

Thanks

TBibler
Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 29,671
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Cannot activate phone trhough Enterprise Server

It is a BESAdmin rite of passage to go through the gauntlet of correcting the right BES data plan with your carrier.

Under Manage Connections on the device (Most of OS 5), there's a services status which tells if connected to the data network.

For BES dataplan testing.

 

 

Want to check if a device is provisioned correctly?
Sign up for free to the BlackBerry Expert Support Center.

https://www.blackberry.com/besc/dashboard/

Then use the Enterprise Activation Readiness tool.

All at absolutely no cost to you or your organization!

The BESC gives you a suite of valuable tools, and includes a Complimentary Support Incident should you need to contact BlackBerry Technical Support directly.




 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
New Contributor
tbibler
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Cannot activate phone trhough Enterprise Server

My co-worker has been incontact with the support group for the BES.  What should I try next?

 

Thanks in advance.

TBibler
Please use plain text.