Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-17-2009
My Device: Not Specified

New BES 5.0 Server, Seperate SRP, Seperate SQL

I have a BES 4.1 server running under a trial that is set to expire.

We just purchased BES 5.0

 

Here are my thoughts on how I will set this up.  Do you think it will work?

 

1 - Install BES5.0 On seperate server, using a different SQL DB, Obviously w/ seperate SRP

2 -  Use the same service account

3 - Connect to the same MAPI profile

 

(User Migration)

4 - Delete the user from BES 4.1

5 - Have user wipe handheld

6 - Activate user on BES 5.0 server

(Repeat x20)

 

Let me know if using one BES account will cause issues or if this looks like a safe way to migrate.

 

Thanks!

Developer
Posts: 333
Registered: ‎04-16-2008
My Device: 8900

Re: New BES 5.0 Server, Seperate SRP, Seperate SQL

This will be fine, you should have no issues.

 

You may want to look at the resource kit as there is a tool in there that has just been released known as the Transporter.

 

It allows you to move users seemlessly between database (BlackBerry Domains).

 

More info here...

 

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/deliverables/7251/BlackBerry_Enterprise_Transporter_Release_Notes.pdf

 

 

R.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-17-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New BES 5.0 Server, Seperate SRP, Seperate SQL

Thanks kerseyr, I will use this tool.  It appears that there is no risk of duplicating items using this method?
Developer
Posts: 333
Registered: ‎04-16-2008
My Device: 8900

Re: New BES 5.0 Server, Seperate SRP, Seperate SQL

I have seen it in action on a Domino Lab box and it worked a charm. Very Impressive.
Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: New BES 5.0 Server, Seperate SRP, Seperate SQL

why not just upgrade in place?  or do a cutover as provided in the upgrade documentation?
------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-12-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New BES 5.0 Server, Seperate SRP, Seperate SQL

The upgrade documentation mentions that in-place upgrades are only for the smallest of installs.  Has anyone tried this in a larger environment ( 200+ users).  I dont see why it wont work, but i'm looking for validation.

 

Thanks

Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: New BES 5.0 Server, Seperate SRP, Seperate SQL

I've successfully done in-place upgrades with 2000 users on a server.  As long as you have the required resources your upgrade will be ok.  How many users do you have total?
------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-12-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New BES 5.0 Server, Seperate SRP, Seperate SQL

Small environemnt compared to yours- 300 users. 
Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: New BES 5.0 Server, Seperate SRP, Seperate SQL


MNBberry wrote:
Small environemnt compared to yours- 300 users. 

300 users is perfectly fine to do in place.

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/