Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

Reply
New Contributor
danny01
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-05-2012
My Device: 9000

SSL certificate for Communication Module

Hi, currently im using a self signed ssl certificate(pfx file imported from IIS manager) during the remote communication module advance installation option, but giving me problem during iOS device activation(after i reliaze it doesnt support self sign certificate base on UDS installation guide)

 

Now i have generated a ssl certificate which sign by our internal Microsoft CA, but not sure how to import to communication module. Do I have to reinstall the communication module in order to import ssl certificate for commucation module ? Please advise!

 

 

Thanks.

 

-danny

Contributor
airok
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-25-2012
My Device: 9700

Re: SSL certificate for Communication Module

yes, you have to reinstall the communication module to import another SSL certificate.  that's what i did

Contributor
basher
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-13-2012
My Device: 9790

Re: SSL certificate for Communication Module

sorry, but wouldn't it be sufficient to import the new SSL Certificate on the server hosting the Communication Module and modify the binding to the SSL certificate within IIS?

I never tried this but I think it's quicker then reinstalling the Communication Module.

Unfortunately, the installation guide and RIM's KB do not cover this topic so far.

Enterprise SME
-BD-
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎05-15-2008
My Device: Z10

Re: SSL certificate for Communication Module

It needs to be reinstalled so that the certificate is updated in the database as well. 

Contributor
basher
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-13-2012
My Device: 9790

Re: SSL certificate for Communication Module

[ Edited ]

Thanks -BD- for clarifying this aspect! I have another question. If I change (not renew) the SSL certificate on the Communication Module, do I have to reactivate all devices previously activated?

 

 

Enterprise SME
-BD-
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎05-15-2008
My Device: Z10

Re: SSL certificate for Communication Module

It should have no effect on existing EA's.

Contributor
airok
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-25-2012
My Device: 9700

Re: SSL certificate for Communication Module

no need to re-activate devices.

i changed SSL certificate once... it's just you need to reinstall the communication module