Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Enterprise Service 10

Reply
Contributor
bentley45
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

migrate database to new server

I am moving a 5.0.2 BES, SQL 2005 installation to new hardware, BES 5.0.3 & SQL 2008 sp1.

I have a migration kit and am working my way thru KB03112 to move the database to the new server.

 

My question is on Task 2, Step 4 'Update the Blackberry Configuration Database Schema'.

The steps imply that I should already have BES installed on the new server, but I do not.

 

My plan was to use KB03112 to move the database, and then use KB22499 to do a knife-edge cutover.

I thought choosing 'Use an existing configuration database' during the BES install would be sufficient if the database was already located on the new server.

 

I am not a SQL person, so if I am missing something in the process, please enlighten me.

Thanks

Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,921
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: migrate database to new server

you have to prep the SQL server so the BES jobs will be there, they are not applied during a restore of the database

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Contributor
bentley45
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: migrate database to new server

That makes sense.  Thanks

Contributor
MaxTPower
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: migrate database to new server

 I would

  1. migrate the database first to the new SQL Box.
  2. after message flow is good, upgrade to SP3 and whatever MR is out
  3. after a successful upgrade, install an HA pair on the new hardware
  4. fail over to the new HA Pair making that the primary
  5. then the old BES/BAS can be uninstalled

There is no need for a migration kit. 

 

Contributor
MaxTPower
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: migrate database to new server

p.s Make sure that 5.0.2 database is backed up...:Yes:

Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,921
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: migrate database to new server


MaxTPower wrote:

 I would

  1. migrate the database first to the new SQL Box.


KB03112 - How to move the BlackBerry Configuration Database to a new Microsoft SQL Server instance

 

  1. after message flow is good upgrade to SP3 and whatever MR is out
  2. after a successful upgrade, install an HA pair on the new hardware

which is now called a knife edge cutover

 

KB10278 - How to perform a knife-edge cutover for BlackBerry Enterprise Server software

 

 

 

  1. fail over to the new HA Pair making that the primary
  2. then the old BES/BAS can be uninstalled

There is no need for a migration kit. 

 


but will HA failover work when BES is installed on the SQL box?

 

remote SQL wont be an issue

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Contributor
MaxTPower
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: migrate database to new server

We need some clarification: is SQL 2008 SP1 on a separate box?
Contributor
bentley45
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: migrate database to new server

Thanks for all replies.

 

Early in my research into this, as I was trying to decide whether to do a knife-edge or phased cutover, I ordered a migration kit, including a new SRP.  I did not realize that would lock me into using the new SRP.  Also, I have a 3rd party app (RSA SecureID Tokens) that I push install to devices.  I did not want to have to repush this out, so I finally decided to do the knife-edge cutover.....nothing is simple.   

 

In talking to support, we decided it was best to do a HA cutover (using KB22499) so the app will not have to be reinstalled on the devices.  After the cutover to the new server, I will change the SRP to the new one I received in the migration kit. 

 

Also, Sql 2008 sp1 will be installed on the new BES.