Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Link

Reply
New Contributor
dar1smith
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-05-2013
My Device: Blackberry z10
My Carrier: SaskTel

Blackberry Link will not backup Z10

Have new Blackberry z10 and downloaded Blackberry Link to transfer/backup info.  Previous Blackberry Torch info was only partially transfered and I am unable to perform backup of Z10.  Have reinstalled Link and reset everything but still no improvement.  I can manually move pictures and files, one by one, from laptop to Z10.  However backup error message "backup not complete" shows when I try to backup.  It doesn't even let me select what I want to backup.  Doesn't get that far.    HELP!

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor (Retired)
Cpt_Sweatpants
Posts: 3,198
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Blackberry Link will not backup Z10

Hi dar1smith and welcome to the BlackBerry Support Community Forums!

 

Take a look at the following article to see if it help you to transfer the data between your BlackBerry Torch and BlackBerry Z10.

 

KB33322 - How to migrate data from a BlackBerry smartphone running BlackBerry Device Software 5.0 an...

 

Thanks.

 

-CptS

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
dar1smith
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-05-2013
My Device: Blackberry z10
My Carrier: SaskTel

Re: Blackberry Link will not backup Z10

[ Edited ]

Transferring data from one phone to the new Z10 is not the real issue.  I cannot backup my Z10 and would like to be able to do this.   When I click on Blackberry Link to back up, I get the error message "unable to backup". "backup not complete"

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor (Retired)
Cpt_Sweatpants
Posts: 3,198
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Blackberry Link will not backup Z10

When in BlackBerry Link, click on your device at the bottom, then click on the Settings (appears as a cog wheel icon at the top). Under the General heading, click on "Select data to include in your backup files" then select everything except "Application Data" then try doing the backup again.

 

Thanks.

 

-CptS

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
dar1smith
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-05-2013
My Device: Blackberry z10
My Carrier: SaskTel

Re: Blackberry Link will not backup Z10

When I try that, the message comes up that there is "no data available for backup".  Now what???

Please use plain text.
Contributor
chiphazmaj
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Blackberry Link will not backup Z10

you have PC Recipe Box installed, uninstall. Solved my issue.
Z10
Rogers, Halifax NS
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
dar1smith
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-05-2013
My Device: Blackberry z10
My Carrier: SaskTel

Re: Blackberry Link will not backup Z10

No PC Recipe box on the laptop.  Thanks though

Please use plain text.
Contributor
chiphazmaj
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Blackberry Link will not backup Z10

It would be on Z10. The app stopped me from being able to backup
Z10
Rogers, Halifax NS
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
dar1smith
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-05-2013
My Device: Blackberry z10
My Carrier: SaskTel

Re: Blackberry Link will not backup Z10

[ Edited ]

Sorry no such app on Z10.    What is that app you are talking about?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
luv2xlr8
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-12-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Blackberry Link will not backup Z10

I had the same issue and looking online it seems to be cause one two apps.  the PC Recipie app and n4bb .. once both these apps were deleted i was able to backup the device

Please use plain text.