Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Link

New Contributor
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Everything Everywhere (Orange)

Cannot transfer data from 9800 to Z10 using Link

Please forgive any mistakes with jargon or technical aspects - I am by no means an expert, I just need a phone that works and can keep me in touch and organised!

I used Link as directed to switch device. Everything appears to load from my old phone but as it reaches the end everything stops and I get the message "Data could not be copied to your device due to the following errors: There could have been a problem with the device or connection. Verify that the device is turned on and connected."

I have had a scout around on various forums and it looks like many others trying to use Link have a host of similar problems. I spoke to Customer Services at my network and they were no help - I was told that there is a known problem with Blackberry Link and it simply will not work until RIM release n update to fix the bugs.

They advised to try media card "device switch" but that does not work with Blackberry 6. So I backed up to my husbands 9790 (Blackberry 7) using Blackberry Manager and used "Device Switch" to save all data to media card. This went into the Z10 but when selecting"Device Switch" I just get links to pages with directions on how to perform a device switch!

I'm beginning to lose patience now - could someone from Blackberry advise if there will be a new version of Link released that will work?

Thank you in advance

L

Regular Contributor
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Fido

Re: Cannot transfer data from 9800 to Z10 using Link