Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Pearl™

Reply
Hall of Famer II
Posts: 51,434
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30/Z10/Q10 (10.3.1.2744), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Connecting to internet


yomzikella wrote:

Hi,

i bough my blackberry curve 8520 2 weeks ago from Nigeria and now i am in Russia, i can make, receive calls and send and receive sms but i can not conect to the internet, even i alrady subscribed for internet on my number but it is not working on my phone, please i would like to know why it is so, thanks.


Hi and Welcome to the Forums!

 

Please see this FAQ for reference:

The first two levels of service are normally pretty easy to get working. The last tier, with all of the BB enhanced services, is very tricky. If the wireless service provider you are trying to operate on natively supports your specific model BB, then it may be as simple as contacting them and activating the proper service plan. If they do not, however, then it get's trickier. All of those enhanced services are activated by two things -- 1) Having the proper service plan and 2) having the proper Service Books on the BB. But, when the carrier does not natively support that BB model number, they may not push those Service Books to the BB, and the services therefore may not function.

 

I suggest you talk to the wireless service provider and see if they will allow your specific BB to function on their data network. If they say yes, then see if they will help you obtain the proper Service Books...it is a very tricky procedure to manually extract the necessary Service Books from a working (on that data network) BB and put them onto yours, but it can be done. Note, however, that there is absolutely no guarantee that your BB will ever work on that network...there is no way to know for sure.

 

Good luck!




Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-01-2011
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: blackberry

Re: Connecting to internet

thanks, i'll try it and hope it'll work.

Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-24-2011
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: MTS

Re: Connecting to internet

"Hi,

i bough my blackberry curve 8520 2 weeks ago from Nigeria and now i am in Russia, i can make, receive calls and send and receive sms but i can not conect to the internet, even i alrady subscribed for internet on my number but it is not working on my phone, please i would like to know why it is so, thanks"

 

Russian issues. there are strict restrictions on BB in Russia. apparently steems from the encryption the phones have.

 

Not sure which carried you are with (MTS and Beeline are the two main providers), firstly if you are using a forreign phone and have a forreign passort, and are with MTS you will need to take your phone in to the nearest shop and get it registered with them, ie your email address, and password, and BB pin code. this will give you access to the internet, emails, and bbm service.you can also do this online. Once registration has taken place, it should take about 20 minutes for your phone to start working properly.

 

if however you are with beeline, then you will also have to take this into the nearest beeline shop. be aware though that beeline have blocked bbm in course with russian regulations, and that you won't have wifi (both will be deactivated) and have to use beelines internet, which is much slower than a wifi. also if you are then roaming, it will cost a small fortune on roaming cost to recieve data, as it will be downloaded on a roaming carriers rates.one last things, they will also wipe your phone to make sure that the bbm and wifi is deactivated.

 

I steered away from this option and went  MTS.

 

hope this helps.

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Mobily

Facing Problem While Email Activation Set Up Wizard.

[ Edited ]

My Device is having Problem While Email Activation Set Up Wizard......Whenever i try to setup after few minutes error comes ....In do regards please help me for the same

Hall of Famer II
Posts: 51,434
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30/Z10/Q10 (10.3.1.2744), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Facing Problem While Email Activation Set Up Wizard.


yashaarali wrote:

My Device is having Problem While Email Activation Set Up Wizard......Whenever i try to setup after few minutes error comes ....In do regards please help me for the same


Hi and Welcome to the Community!!

I suggest the following steps, in order, even if they seem redundant to what you have already tried (steps 1 and 2 each should result in a message coming to your BB...please wait for that before proceeding to the next step):

1) Register HRT

  • KB00510 How to register a BlackBerry smartphone with the wireless network



2) Delete and Resend Service Books

  • KB05000Delete the service book for the BlackBerry Internet Service email account from the BlackBerry smartphone
  • KB02830 Send the service books for the BlackBerry Internet Service



3) Batt Pull Reboot

  • Anytime random strange behavior or sluggishness creeps in, the first thing to do is a battery pop reboot. With power ON, remove the back cover and pull out the battery. Wait about a minute then replace the battery and cover. Power up and wait patiently through the long reboot -- ~5 minutes. See if things have returned to good operation. Like all computing devices, BB's suffer from memory leaks and such...with a hard reboot being the best cure.


Hopefully that will get things going again for you! If not, then you should contact your mobile service provider for formal support.

 

Good luck!




Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-24-2012
My Device: pearl 9105
My Carrier: 3

Re: How to register a blackberry with the appropriate service provider ?

i did the go to settings, advanced options, houst routin setting table thing but the message it sent to me wasmy handheld has been registered with the wireless network when i want that and mobile internet my provider is 3

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-23-2012
My Device: Blackberry pearl 8100
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: How to register a blackberry with the appropriate service provider ?

Hi there, am in Ghana and also using the same phone model. I had a similar issue. I can now browse with it. I followed the orders from my network provider, Airtel Ghana. But the only problem I have now is to upgrade my OS. 

Lets meet on msn mimbogy@live.com or facebook- mimbogy bancram

Hall of Famer II
Posts: 51,434
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30/Z10/Q10 (10.3.1.2744), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: How to register a blackberry with the appropriate service provider ?


rijwhan wrote:

i did the go to settings, advanced options, houst routin setting table thing but the message it sent to me wasmy handheld has been registered with the wireless network when i want that and mobile internet my provider is 3


Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

Ummm...what? If I'm understanding what you wrote correctly, then that completed only step 1. You still need to go through steps 2 and 3...

 

Good luck!




Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Hall of Famer II
Posts: 51,434
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30/Z10/Q10 (10.3.1.2744), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: How to register a blackberry with the appropriate service provider ?


Bancram wrote:

Hi there, am in Ghana and also using the same phone model. I had a similar issue. I can now browse with it. I followed the orders from my network provider, Airtel Ghana. But the only problem I have now is to upgrade my OS. 

Lets meet on msn <redacted> or facebook- mimbogy bancram


Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

If you upgrade your OS, you likely will have to re-do all of the steps that your carrier gave you to get things working this time...such is the nature of using a non-supported BB on a carrier network.

 

From a PC, you can install any compatible (e.g., for your exact BB Model Number) OS package to a BB via this procedure:

 

 

Note that while written for "reload" and the Storm, it can be used to upgrade, downgrade, or reload any BB device model -- it all depends on the OS package you download and install to your PC. You can even use a different carriers OS package by simply inserting, between steps 1 and 2, the deletion, on your PC, of a file named VENDOR.XML. Be sure that you remove, from your PC, any other BB device OS packages as having more than one installed to the PC can cause conflicts with this procedure.

If you are on MAC, you are limited to only your carriers sanctioned OS packages...but can still use any levels that they currently sanction. See this procedure:

 

  • KB19915How to perform a clean reload of BlackBerry smartphone application software using BlackBerry Desktop Software

 

Good luck and let us know!




Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Mobily

Re: Facing Problem While Email Activation Set Up Wizard.

Thanks For Replying.....but still the problem has not been solved......i am supposed to receive a registeration message but no message has been displayed....i have tried several times but yet the same result....please advice in  such situation what should I do....