Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-06-2012
My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook
Accepted Solution

Application world won't open in PlayBook when using BIS

App world on my PlayBook  won't load when I am using bridge with BIS.every other thing works though. Why is this so? Please someone help 

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 2,071
Registered: ‎10-10-2010
My Device: Z10

Re: Application world won't open in PlayBook when using BIS

Apparently World is not supported via Bridge. You must be connected via wifi to use it. 

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-06-2012
My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook

Re: Application world won't open in PlayBook when using BIS

Thanks so much!  That ain't too good !!!

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 2,071
Registered: ‎10-10-2010
My Device: Z10

Re: Application world won't open in PlayBook when using BIS

Given the size of some apps, I believe its to prevent people running up large bills when connected via BIS. 

 

If your blackberry is OS7.1 and you have an appropriate data plan you can create a wifi hotspot. 

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-06-2012
My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook

Re: Application world won't open in PlayBook when using BIS

Thank u sir, yeah I heard something about that but don't know the details. The appropriate data plan u mentioned, please enlighten me on it sir.

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 2,071
Registered: ‎10-10-2010
My Device: Z10

Re: Application world won't open in PlayBook when using BIS

Some carriers prevent mobile hotspot, some also limit the amount of data which downloading 500mb apps can seriously eat into
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-06-2012
My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook

Re: Application world won't open in PlayBook when using BIS

Thanks. Does mobile hotspot work with the normal BIS subscription on the O.S 7.1 or I need to buy MB using another data plan?
Forums Veteran I
Posts: 2,071
Registered: ‎10-10-2010
My Device: Z10

Re: Application world won't open in PlayBook when using BIS

It varies by carrier so you need to call them. My carrier includes it
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-06-2012
My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook

Re: Application world won't open in PlayBook when using BIS

Thanks for ur response. God bless!!!

Guru III
Posts: 31,009
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Application world won't open in PlayBook when using BIS

I used app world on a wifi mobile hot spot last year. Worked great.

 

App world wont work on anything but wifi, some apps at 400 meg would take a longtime to download.

 

You can search via the web at app world though

http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V