Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
New Contributor
chloepiercy
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-26-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: O2

Re: Connected to the Internet but app world says no connection

I thought that VolvoBerry but when on the playbook itself it says that there are no updates and when I plug it into my computer it is still asking for the password that I dont have

I am going to take it back to the shop that I got it from tonight

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
Wolf359
Posts: 3,329
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Q10 / Playbook

Re: Connected to the Internet but app world says no connection

I'm also wondering.. was this playbook brand new and you set it up from scratch?  Has it ever worked on your WiFi network?

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution! :Balloon:
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
VolvoBerry
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
My Device: BB PB 64Gb (Two) & Bold 9900 / Curve 9360
My Carrier: Fido

Re: Connected to the Internet but app world says no connection

Hi "Cloepiercy"!

I just got on "Board" (showelling snow for "a" few hours!)...

 

I just wonder... Did you set up a BlackBerry ID account? (without it you won't be able to access the "AppWord"!

 

m.- 

 

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
chloepiercy
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-26-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: O2

Re: Connected to the Internet but app world says no connection

It works!! Well for now anyway. I just tried again when i got in from work. It did a few errors but then worked. It was from new yes and i hav two blackberry ids and i was using both.

 

 

 

Any ideas how i can link it up to my computer tho to transfer media? I still dont know this mysterious 'device password' xxxx

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
VolvoBerry
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
My Device: BB PB 64Gb (Two) & Bold 9900 / Curve 9360
My Carrier: Fido

Re: Connected to the Internet but app world says no connection

First: I AM VERY HAPPY FOR YOU! I promise you... You'll be thrilled!

Second: you have to download the Desktop Manager, install it on your computer, connect the BB-PB through the cable provided (on USB port/connector) and try to follow the instructions (upper left corner); decide what you want to do! You'll have to be a bit patient and don't force the connectors... On PB it snaps in when inserted properly (BB logo facing up!)!.

As a note, I noticed some kind of "stranger behaviour" with my two PB's and I'm sure it's related to the updates released progressively (as part of QNX - BB10)... One more month!!!

I will try to send you (shortly) the shortcut for the desktop software!

 

Cheers, I'm glad you DID NOT return the tablet!

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
Wolf359
Posts: 3,329
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Q10 / Playbook

Re: Connected to the Internet but app world says no connection

To transfer media, you can use the desktop manager:

http://us.blackberry.com/software/desktop/blackberry-media-sync.html

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution! :Balloon:
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
Please use plain text.