Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
Forums Advisor III
jerryg50
Posts: 1,169
Registered: ‎02-28-2009
My Device: Torch, Bold, Play Book, and Bluetooth HS-700
My Carrier: BELL

Re: Get BlackBerry Bridge for your BlackBerry

Why don't you shop around for a carrier that will give you a tether service that will fit your needs?

Any tablet you get will need a data plan of some type to be able to operate.

Where I am located the data plans start at about $30 per month for 500 mb and go to very high in cost. For $100 I think they give 6 GB per month. The most popular plans are in the 1 to 2 GB range.

All the carriers that I am aware of are charging a base rate for tethering.

Based on global standards the carrier you are with is not out of line.

Jerry G.
Jerry G.
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
redheadp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎11-04-2010
My Device: Z30. 9860. 9800. PlayBook.
My Carrier: Optus

Re: Get BlackBerry Bridge for your BlackBerry

Pity you don't have carruiers like ours in Australia. We pay for our plan like mine 49 per month gives me 450 in calls plus 1gig internet and incluides the 10 $ unlimited blackberryt browsing plan. Otherwiser we buy any plan and pay $10 extra for unlimited bb. Maybe they need competition.
Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor III
jerryg50
Posts: 1,169
Registered: ‎02-28-2009
My Device: Torch, Bold, Play Book, and Bluetooth HS-700
My Carrier: BELL

Re: Get BlackBerry Bridge for your BlackBerry

In Canada its a lot more expensive!

Jerry G.
Jerry G.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
zozy_girl
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Get BlackBerry Bridge for your BlackBerry

It spoke with a T -Mobile report & they don't require any special tethering package. You just need the $10 regular ad-on for BlackBerry smartphones. They will allow me to use my torch9810 from Att by purchasing a t -mobile sim card for $1.99. So it appears that t -mobile is the carrier that truly supports BB. 

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
redheadp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎11-04-2010
My Device: Z30. 9860. 9800. PlayBook.
My Carrier: Optus

Re: Get BlackBerry Bridge for your BlackBerry

Great now with os2. tethering is much faster the $10 plan is great. I hope I had a little input to your finding it. :smileyhappy:.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
zozy_girl
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Get BlackBerry Bridge for your BlackBerry

Yes, I would have needed to pay the $10 anyway just to use a bb regardless of bb bridge. I'll go to the store within the next couple days, & hope I was given correct info. Thanks!
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
redheadp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎11-04-2010
My Device: Z30. 9860. 9800. PlayBook.
My Carrier: Optus

Re: Get BlackBerry Bridge for your BlackBerry

I use bridge for most browsing however file size restrictions ie u tube. For that I use wi fi. But never had a problem since first released.
Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor III
jerryg50
Posts: 1,169
Registered: ‎02-28-2009
My Device: Torch, Bold, Play Book, and Bluetooth HS-700
My Carrier: BELL

Re: Get BlackBerry Bridge for your BlackBerry

I mostly use tethering for the web because I'm rarely near a WiFi spot. Tethering is superior to bridge for web browsing speed and file handling. Naturally WiFi is best.

If most of the browsing is mostly text based with only a moderate amount of graphics a huge data an would not be required. I found with a lot of usage I rarely exceeded 800 mb of total data usage over any one month period. I am on the tablet for three to four hours per day. Its used mostly for business type work.

Watching HD videos and streaming misic over the net will burn a lot of data. Fortunately Blackberry uses very good compression technology.

Jerry G.
Jerry G.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
alansmyth
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-14-2012
My Device: Blackberry Playbook
My Carrier: Tesco

Re: Get BlackBerry Bridge for your BlackBerry

Hi

What about people who have older models like me with a Curve 8800 running 4.5 software, I have a Playbook but i'm unable to use Blackberry Bridge.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,865
Likes: 22,671
Solutions: 5,839
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Get BlackBerry Bridge for your BlackBerry


alansmyth wrote:

Hi

What about people who have older models like me with a Curve 8800 running 4.5 software, I have a Playbook but i'm unable to use Blackberry Bridge.


Correct, you'll read the Bridge requirements include a device of OS5 or greater.

The 8800 will not upgrade to OSW5.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.