Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

New Contributor
LuvmyPlaybook
My Device: Blackberry Playbook
My Carrier: ATT

Help with downloading newest OS version 2.1.0.1088

I have been trying for over a month to download and install the newest OS software. I am not a engineering geek and don't know what I am doing wrong. I have followed all of the protocols: my playbook is plugged into the wall outlet, I have my wi-fi connected and I start to download. The download takes over an hour but it completes the download every time. However, the install aborts after about 400mgs and tells me to RETRY. Today, I tried to download and install again, the download completed after about 1 hour then the installation began and went all the way to 479 mgs then aborted and said  to RETRY again! This is maybe the 10th attempt over the last 30+ days. What is wrong? I am very frustrated. I checked some forums on Crackberry and several people said they had 70mgs in the upgrade. I have had my PlayBook for a year now and absolutely LOVE it. It does just what I want it to do, but I am afraid if I don't keep the operating system updated I will start to have problems. Can someone please help me figure out what I need to do differently?

Please use plain text.
Guru I
John_Clark
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.2.1.3247; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: at&t

Re: Help with downloading newest OS version 2.1.0.1088

Several things here.  First, if your device is working fine the way it is then you can ignore the update. 

Second, the size of the update depends on the version of the OS currently installed, so just because someone's is 70MB only means they updated to the version that came out just before 1088.  Don't worry about that.