Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
New Contributor
ghostofsparta
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-05-2014
My Device: Blackberry Playbook 64gb
My Carrier: Not available

How Do I get my Working Playbook wifi T'werk? Please Help

[ Edited ]

My 64GB Playbook (not the SIM type) just had it damaged battery replaced by a techie who deals in phone and tab repairs, afterwards I don't know why it has been defaulting to the Wifi setup page option, the tech guy told me it need to be reloaded with an OS via only through Wifi for which he was going to charge me heavily for, so I decided to do it myself. In my area, there aren't much Wifi connection around, the few available ones are both very slow and password secured. I eventually connected the Playbook to an unsecured one, and got passed the wifi setup page, problem started when at the Blackberry ID selection page, as I am about to fill it, it just hanged. Nothing hit it nor did it fall from my hands, Swiping pass each setup language/agreement options page, until it hanged on the Blackberry ID selection page thinking to myself it was loading or something wherein I realized this when I was awaiting it respond but never responded. It just froze there.

I pressed the I/O Turn Off button and it displayed the 3 buttons: Restart, Standby and Turn Off but there weren't responding to my taps, so I had to press the I/O button down to shut it off. After shutting it down and Putting it on several times to no avail, I came online and learned about the hard reset which I did but don't know if its working or not. It's not even making the camera snap sound I heard on a Youtube video.

I am now thinking manually installing an OS offline is the only option left, problem is I don't know how to go about it. Besides, I'm supposing it's may be a software related issue therefore could this method restore the touchscreen function? Since it didn't fall or anything, it just hanged during the wifi connection and now defaults to the Date and Time page with the "swipe left to continue" text below. I have read some threads here and there but have only got more confused since some folks are getting theirs solved not over wifi but through a device wipe and reload, while others are saying dingleberry is the way to go, knowing it is meant for running custom OS, android stuff and rooting which isn't exactly what I need.

I just want my Playbook touchscreen working and running. Please guys help me out here, I don't know what to do and wouldn't want to do anything I am not so sure of, in order to avoid damaging my poor Playbook the more. Do I need to wipe it? If yes, how do I do that and how do I re-install the OS? Should I go ahead with dingleberry? I have download Dingleberry version 2.1beta . I have download this file here **Link Removed**. I remember it was 2.1.0.1088 that was there when it used to only default to the wifi page page.

Please use plain text.
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 15,122
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1052; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: at&t

Re: How Do I get my Working Playbook wifi T'werk? Please Help

The only way to reload the OS on a Playbook is via a wifi connection on the device. Even if there was a manual file to reload it you'd need to download it via wifi anyway. In essence, a wifi connection is required to reload the OS.

The fact that the touch screen doesn't work makes me wonder if everything got put back together properly or if something got damaged while disassembled.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
ghostofsparta
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-05-2014
My Device: Blackberry Playbook 64gb
My Carrier: Not available

Re: How Do I get my Working Playbook wifi T'werk? Please Help

[ Edited ]

You don't get it. I already said: the Playbook frozed while I was trying to update it. And by update I mean while I went ahead filling in detail of the initial settings so as to proceed to when it will look up an update. When I tapped on the country tab on the Blackberry ID page. It just paused. Nothing was responding till I pressed down the I/O button to shut it down, and since then keeps defaulting to Date/Time setting page where the left-glimmering 'Swipe Left to...'   text is displayed below, yet the screen touch isn't working. It's strange because the it didn't fell.

Please use plain text.
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 15,122
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1052; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: at&t

Re: How Do I get my Working Playbook wifi T'werk? Please Help

OK, fine. So we'll assume it's all intact internally. You still need wifi and BlackBerry Link or BlackBerry Desktop Software on your PC to reload the OS. You can also use Internet Explorer and go to www.blackberry.com/upgrade, as well but, again, you need wifi to load the OS.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Please use plain text.
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 15,122
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1052; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: at&t

Re: How Do I get my Working Playbook wifi T'werk? Please Help

To be clear, I don't know why it locked up and became unresponsive. You do need a wifi connection to complete the setup process. Did you connect it to wifi? It's possible that the reboot has caused it to hang and be unresponsive and you may have to reload the OS again.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
ghostofsparta
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-05-2014
My Device: Blackberry Playbook 64gb
My Carrier: Not available

Re: How Do I get my Working Playbook wifi T'werk? Please Help

[ Edited ]

I don't understand why you keep mentioning "wifi" when you keep saying I need to connect it to a wifi, how am I supposed to that since the touchscreen suddenly stopped responding while setting it up via wifi?

Please use plain text.
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 15,122
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1052; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: at&t

Re: How Do I get my Working Playbook wifi T'werk? Please Help

Because if you can't get it to respond either by rebooting or by doing anything else on the device then you need to connect it to a computer and reload, again, the OS. That requires wifi.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
ghostofsparta
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-05-2014
My Device: Blackberry Playbook 64gb
My Carrier: Not available

Re: How Do I get my Working Playbook wifi T'werk? Please Help

Unless there is another definition for the word 'reboot' as regarding Playbooks, I have done exactly just that countless time, which is by holding down the I/O button to shut it down and then turning it on again since the non-responding touchscreen won't allow the RESTART icon (which among the 3 options that pops up when the I/O button is pressed) to execute. Other things I have done is to do the HARD RESET i.e. pressing down the + , - & I/O buttons at the same time, which seems not to be solving it. Unless there is another solution, I'm pretty sure I have to reload it as you suggest which I suppose it should awake the non-responding touchscreen. Can you put me through on how to do that?

Please use plain text.
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 15,122
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1052; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: at&t

Re: How Do I get my Working Playbook wifi T'werk? Please Help

Install BlackBerry Link on your computer and use the Reinstall OS feature in that app.

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB34045
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Please use plain text.