Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
New Contributor
cdnbob
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-26-2012
My Device: Blackberry Playbook
Accepted Solution

Initial Set of New Playbook - Newbie User

Okay, I got a new BB Playbook for Xmas.  It says I have to hook up to WIFI to set up the tablet.  I don't have a WIFI so does that mean I have to go to my local coffee shop that has WIFI and set up my BB there?  Or can I use the USB plug, plug into my PC and do it that way?  I'm confused.

 

Also is the USB and power supply plug on the BB the same plug on the actual BB - middle of the three plugs on the side of the BBP?

Forums Veteran III
Wolf359
Posts: 3,517
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Z30 / Playbook

Re: Initial Set of New Playbook - Newbie User

Here are the activation options.  Looks like you have to use WiFi

http://btsc.webapps.blackberry.com/btsc/viewdocument.do?externalId=KB26228&sliceId=2&cmd=displayKC&d...

 

http://blogs.blackberry.com/2011/04/blackberry-playbook-setup/

 

Yes, here is a description of the ports:

http://www.berryreview.com/2011/01/09/blackberry-playbook-has-two-charging-ports-usb-and-magnetic/

 

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution! :Balloon:
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
New Contributor
cdnbob
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-26-2012
My Device: Blackberry Playbook

Re: Initial Set of New Playbook - Newbie User

[ Edited ]

So I have to run down to my closest Starbucks or Tim Hortons with my new device, hope that I can find a plug in to plug the power source into and then set it up in a public place.  Talk about a pain in the **bleep**.  I'm not impressed.

 

Anyway, thanks for your answer.  It did help me out.

Elite II
tanzim
Posts: 9,321
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Torch 9800

Re: Initial Set of New Playbook - Newbie User


cdnbob wrote:

So I have to run down to my closest Starbucks or Tim Hortons with my new device, hope that I can find a plug in to plug the power source into and then set it up in a public place.  Talk about a pain in the **bleep**.  I'm not impressed.

 

Anyway, thanks for your answer.  It did help me out.


For running PlayBook in future you'll be needing a Wi-Fi zone because you know PlayBook is primarily runs of Wi-Fi (though there is a Wi-Fi & LTE version available). Hence, it's assume that you'll be able to configure your PB sitting at home...not running to Starbucks/Tim Horton's.

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,404
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z30, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: B&You _ SFR

Re: Initial Set of New Playbook - Newbie User

you can charge the device at home, and then go to the public place with WiFi to setup the PlayBook. It won't take long (less than 20 minutes) so don't fear the battery will deplete during the operation.



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
New Contributor
cdnbob
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-26-2012
My Device: Blackberry Playbook

Re: Initial Set of New Playbook - Newbie User


tanzim wrote:
For running PlayBook in future you'll be needing a Wi-Fi zone because you know PlayBook is primarily runs of Wi-Fi (though there is a Wi-Fi & LTE version available). Hence, it's assume that you'll be able to configure your PB sitting at home...not running to Starbucks/Tim Horton's.

And that assumption is a poor business judgement.  Not everyone runs their PC off of a router.  I'm hoping this is just a temporary setback and once my PB is up and running I'll be happy with it.  If not, its going back for a refund.  The device should work like an iPod where all you have to do is connect the PB to your PC to set the device up.   So far based on this I'm not impressed with the device, but I'm willing to give it a chance as this is likely a temporary setback.

New Contributor
cdnbob
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-26-2012
My Device: Blackberry Playbook

Re: Initial Set of New Playbook - Newbie User


Xandrex wrote:
you can charge the device at home, and then go to the public place with WiFi to setup the PlayBook. It won't take long (less than 20 minutes) so don't fear the battery will deplete during the operation.

Thanks for the info Xandrex.  :smileyhappy: I'll try that and see what happens.

Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 16,158
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1154; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917

Re: Initial Set of New Playbook - Newbie User

What did you expect to do with the device without Internet access on it?? You can't download an app, you can't surf the web, you can't send or receive email, etc. What is the point of owning the device?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Forums Veteran I
jarviser
Posts: 1,625
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
My Device: Two PB's

Re: Initial Set of New Playbook - Newbie User

[ Edited ]

cdnbob wrote:



... device should work like an iPod where all you have to do is connect the PB to your PC to set the device up.   So far based on this I'm not impressed with the device, but I'm willing to give it a chance as this is likely a temporary setback.


Install latest blackberry desktop software on your laptop and launch it.
Turn playbook right off
Connect playbook using usb
If it starts up, press power button to turn it off
You will get an error message,options are retry or update. Quickly select update and follow instructions.
This will set it up as you are wanting it to, via an internet connected laptop. This is the debrick process.
Hopefully you can create a blackberry id on the fly, but if not, separately go to blackberry.com and create a BBID then return to the setup. 
Having said that, it will have limited use, as John just said. It may even require wifi to complete the process. Can't remember, been so long since I did one

 

 

_________________________
New Contributor
cdnbob
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-26-2012
My Device: Blackberry Playbook

Re: Initial Set of New Playbook - Newbie User

Just wanted to say thank you to those of you who provided some useful tips and suggestions for getting my new PB up and running.  I ended up going to one of my local coffee shops with wifi and tried to set up the PB but the place I went to had crappy net connection and it kept crashing.  I was able to get my new PB to the point where it would start downloading the software update but because where I was net service wasn't very stable - it kept crashing at 33% download - I ended up walking down to my local London Drugs and they finished the set up for me.  My new PB is now up and running and all I have to do is get some apps to start using it to its full capability.