Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
New Contributor
lokeshchaitanya
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Device: Non Blackberry user
My Carrier: Lycamobile

Is Blackberry playbook purchased in UK will work in INdia

I would like to purchase a playbook in UK, and take it back to my native place in INdia. Just want to know if i can do so and also will i be getting all sort of support for the playbook (incase of any problems) in india. Since i purchased here in UK and taking back to INdia., will it cause any problems?

Please use plain text.
Developer
obone
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 9790, BlackBerry PlayBook 64Gb, BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha
My Carrier: MTS

Re: Is Blackberry playbook purchased in UK will work in INdia

Hi lokeshchaitanya,

PlayBook will work fine. As for support in India, it's better to call Indian support and ask them. I know that North American PlayBooks are not supported in Europe (in case of replacement, etc).
Respectfully,
Oleg

Developer, QNX RTOS, BlackBerry 10 and PlayBook
Follow me on Twitter (in Russian)
St.Petersburg BlackBerry Dev. Group
Please use plain text.
Contributor
davidjbd
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Device: Playbook 64GB, Blackberry Torch
My Carrier: ATT, and TELUS

Re: Is Blackberry playbook purchased in UK will work in INdia

I would tend to agree, I have used my Playbook in USA, Canada, Russia, UK, and India on business trips with no problems. Just remember to ensure you have the correct charger and plugs for your region. 

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
lokeshchaitanya
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Device: Non Blackberry user
My Carrier: Lycamobile

Re: Is Blackberry playbook purchased in UK will work in INdia

THanks one and all for your replies

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
ziviliux
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-31-2013
My Device: bold
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Is Blackberry playbook purchased in UK will work in INdia

Hi Oleg,

Could you explain what you mean by 2are not supported".

For example, I have a playbook here in UK, will I be able to use it in Lithuania? Can i download apps when there?
Also, I think of buying a playbook to my niece, who lives in Lithuania. Will be any problem using there if WIFI is available?
Will be any problem for setting the playbook there, get app's.

Thanks,
Zivile
Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran I
jarviser
Posts: 1,625
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
My Device: Two PB's

Re: Is Blackberry playbook purchased in UK will work in INdia

http://global.blackberry.com/sites/emea/lt_lt.html

 

Lithuania page does not show playbooks so country support probably not available. You should be able to use it but may not allow you to set it up as lithuania. May have to lie and pretend you are in a different country, and that not work. It would be a risk. 

_________________________
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
ziviliux
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-31-2013
My Device: bold
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Is Blackberry playbook purchased in UK will work in INdia

Hi,

 

If I travel to Lithuania with my BB playbook, will I be able to use it with no restrictions? I do live in UK...all I really need to know whether there any other restrictions using in other countries. I have no problem of putting any other country when registering. I simply do not care - UK, Germany, Norway...I do not need a support too. All i ask - will it work when WIFI is avaible, will I be able to download apps when in Lithuania.

 

Thanks.

 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
saugen48
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎09-01-2012
My Device: Blackberry Playbook 32GB
My Carrier: none at present

Re: Is Blackberry playbook purchased in UK will work in INdia

Wouldnt the built in gps know if you are trying to use another country for setup?????

Gene
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
ziviliux
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-31-2013
My Device: bold
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Is Blackberry playbook purchased in UK will work in INdia

If I am setting up in uk and choose uk, so what GPS has to do with it??? 

 

My all questions are - will it work in other country ( i had in mind Lithuania) and I can use all apps, when originally set up in another country ex. UK?

 

Dear repliers - all I want to know does BB playbook work in any country I go and I can use a full service when connected to WIFI? I do not need any other answers or suggestions?

Please use plain text.
Developer
obone
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 9790, BlackBerry PlayBook 64Gb, BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha
My Carrier: MTS

Re: Is Blackberry playbook purchased in UK will work in INdia

[ Edited ]

jarviser wrote:

http://global.blackberry.com/sites/emea/lt_lt.html

 

Lithuania page does not show playbooks so country support probably not available. You should be able to use it but may not allow you to set it up as lithuania. May have to lie and pretend you are in a different country, and that not work. It would be a risk. 


This means absolutely nothing. PlayBook is also absent on Russian site: http://ru.blackberry.com . But PlayBook supports Russian language and it has Russian localization. It works very fine in Russia. But I can't say anything about Lithuania.

 

Respectfully,
Oleg

Developer, QNX RTOS, BlackBerry 10 and PlayBook
Follow me on Twitter (in Russian)
St.Petersburg BlackBerry Dev. Group
Please use plain text.