Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

New Contributor
My Device: Blackberry Playbook
Accepted Solution

My Blackberry Tablet was forced to upgrade and lost everythin

Has this happened to anyone?

I have been using the Blackberry Playbook for 3 months now and have setup everything and synced it to the desktop before. Just recently, I plugged it into the computer to sync pictures and such but it could not connect but asked to upgrade (note, a few weeks ago I had already updated the OS). After the update, it reset and asked to setup the Playbook as if I had just bought it. After setting it up again all of my videos, pictures, music, contacts, and applications were gone!! There seems to be no way for me to recover.

Also, I made sure that the Playbook did not shut down or get disconnected from the computer or the network while the upgrade was in progress.

I don't think that I will continue to use the Playbook at the risk of losing everything again. I had my baby's first crawl and many other important memories on there.

Regular Contributor
My Device: Playbox

Re: My Blackberry Tablet was forced to upgrade and lost everythin

That is terrible. I've since moved a few things from my playbook to my storage space after reading a few earlier horror stories like yours.
I havent even upgraded to the new os yet partly because of some of the poor user experiences that I've read.
Developer
My Device: Z30 / PlayBook 64GB

That's awful news!

I'm afraid that it sounds like you have inadvertently activated the debrick process which is what activates when the Desktop Manager cannot connect properly to the PlayBook. 

Although the dialog says 'upgrade' it does also warn you that this will return the PlayBook to factory defaults.