Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

New Contributor
My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.1.0.1526
My Carrier: Belkin

PLAYBOOK BROWSER FIREWALLS

Hi guys.

I got a BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.1.0.1526 recently and I've been concerned about computer viruses possibly malfunctioning my tablet. 

Do any of you guys know if there's a trustworthy downloadable firewall for my tablet (maybe recommended by BlackBerry Enterprise, preferrably) or if it came with one? Or are computer viruses not compatible with tablets like my PlayBook so I needn't worry?

I would have looked up "BlackBerry PlayBook Firewalls" on Google, but I wanted to check first for if there are reliable firewalls or proxies out there already. 

Feel free to correct me, I'm not very good with computers, I only know how to operate them.

Thanks,

Jenn

Super Contributor
My Device: pb
My Carrier: none

Re: PLAYBOOK BROWSER FIREWALLS

[ Edited ]

Firewall will not prevent infecton by virus, it merely stops others connecting to your devices uninvited, i.e. "unless I request a response, don't allow it through". That's a hacking preventer   If you have a firewall on your router that's fine.

No virus, trojan or other malware known as a virus can infect your QNX based Playbook.  Only precaution is use private browsing so the wife doesn't find out what videos you have been watching!

You can pass infection on to another person by forwarding already infected office documents, but that's their problem.

Dont need antivirus on Playbook, Ipads, Macs or Linux machines.  Period. 

Just watch what you download and install. Get apps from Blackberry World only. Sideload with extreme caution. 

My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.1.0.1526
My Carrier: Belkin

Okay, thanks!

Forums Advisor III
My Device: Torch, Bold, Play Book, and Bluetooth HS-700