Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

New Contributor
benc999
My Device: Playbook

Playbook - Can't even use out of the box

What a shame. I was prepared to look past the barrage of negative press that this device has received as I truly believed its a great bit of hardware and the software issues are being addressed - certainly with the ability to upload some decent, popular apps at least.

I've spent the best part of 6 hours trying to set the thing up... after waiting for the damned thing to charge, I waited for two hours downloading until it borked on me and now cannot reconnect to try again. I've tried the desktop method but the servers seem to fail when trying to connect to download stuff. This, combined with random error codes make this the most frustrating bit of tech I've owned.

I'm not technically green - I know my around gadgets and gizmos (rooting and flashing Android phones etc). 

I really really cannot believe whoever thought this was a good idea. No other piece of kit is designed like this. 

If you're going to place so much emphasis on being forced to download 500mb of updates, ensure your servers are rock solid. 

If this doesn't work tonight when I get home, its going back to the shop tomorrow morning. Which is a shame given its a good bit of kit and there is a wealth of help on the internet. Its just a shame RIM are a bit of a mess.

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran I
aandras
My Device: Z10 & Playbook

Re: Playbook - Can't even use out of the box

I would contact support. You have 90 day complimentary support.
Be a Shepard and not an iSheep.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
mrbenz7
My Device: BlackBerry Playbook 64 GB