Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

rbchip
My Device: Playbook

Screen Timeout to short

Is there any plans to change the screen timeout to a longer duration. I am a musician and would like to use my playbook for my song charts on stage. However it keeps turning off, in order to turn it on I have to use two hands to do so, which I can't do while playing guitar.

The apps in the App store that support song charts time out as well. The word processor that comes with the playbook is far superior than them anyway.

I love everything else about my playbook, however if this doesn't change I will have to purchase a tablet that will let you increase the screen timeout and stop using the playbook. If I had of known this before purchasing, I never would of gotten a playbook as this is the main reason I got it. The other tablets on the market will allow this.

Losing a customer(s) over a screen timeout is actually pretty senseless, but that's the reality. As it is my playbook does not do what I need it to.

My next show is in a couple of weeks, if this hasn't changed by then, I will be sadly changing to a different tablet.

Blaire Comrie

Forums Advisor I
chaosdivine
My Device: BB PlayBook (32 GB Wi-Fi OS 2.1.0.1314) and Torch 9810 (OS 7.1.0.746)

Re: Screen Timeout to short

I'm a musician too and use it in much the same way. I can understand your frustration and I share in the thought that the 5 minute timeout is a poorly thought out solution.