Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
New Member
rafaelsus
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-09-2011
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: Movistar

WiFi WPA2 Enterprise not workign

Hi 

 

I am the network administrator of Wi Fi over Enterprise, we have now 100 users trying to connect with Playbook but it have not been posible. we use WPA2 Enterprise EAP-TLS. First it was very dificult to download the cert to the device, We have accomplish that but we have not been able to connect toour network. 

 

we use GeoTrust Global CA and Equifax Secure Certificate Authority.

 

Thanks in advance.

Please use plain text.
New Member
Greg71
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-13-2011
My Device: 9800
My Carrier: It specialist

Re: WiFi WPA2 Enterprise not workign

Hi,

 

Have you found any solution? I have exactly the same problem, searching forums and found nothing... :smileysad:

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
New Member
dj09111
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-13-2011
My Device: blackberry playbook
My Carrier: base

Re: WiFi WPA2 Enterprise not workign

i have almost the same problem. at my university they are using this eduroam-network now. it is a wpa2 enterprise wifi witch uses ttls and pap for innerlinksecurity. so with my playbook - no chance to connect, while those ipad users (as well as everybody else) can connect quite easily :smileysad: - hope there will be an update on this matter SOON. as this is a non-acceptable condition.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Marcel38
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Torch
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: WiFi WPA2 Enterprise not workign

I have the same, but may have a solution,  Change the WPA2 to WPA works for me on my router(FortiGate) http://bit.ly/m5qdhn 

 

Hope this helps, And hopefully RiM will notice too that WPA2 is not working on certain routers for the PlayBook.

Regards,

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
bnekid
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
My Device: Blackberry Playbook - OS Version 1.0.5.2342 - Build ID 47935
My Carrier: N/A

Re: WiFi WPA2 Enterprise not workign

It could also be that the users themselves are not selecting the right encryption scheme, this happens to me all the time at work.  I have to configure it for them to match the settings I used for the enterprise enrollment.

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Tony86
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
My Device: BLACKBERRY PLAYBOOK
My Carrier: ICE

Re: WiFi WPA2 Enterprise not workign

 


Hi rafaelsus :Ninja:
May be this kb's From BB database can help you on that!
KB27269
KB03735

KB04359

 

KB05227

 

KB02068

 

KB19236

Hope this helps you!!
Please give kudos or mark as a solution if this was helpful!! Thanks!!!!!!
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
bnekid
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
My Device: Blackberry Playbook - OS Version 1.0.5.2342 - Build ID 47935
My Carrier: N/A

Re: WiFi WPA2 Enterprise not workign

@Rafaelsus, @Greg71...

The WPA2 Enterprise settings have to match for all your uses that you specified. Rafael, you said in your post that you use your own cert, then said that you use GeoTrust Global CA and Equifax Secure Certificate Authority...

If you have your own CA, then use that cert and not the ones you listed. And make sure your users are using the right cert as well.

Please use plain text.
New Member
Emgc_88
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-09-2011
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Iusacell

Re: WiFi WPA2 Enterprise not workign

I was having the same issue until yesterday. Seems to be a "Default Gateway and DNS" issue.

After spending a couple of nights dealing with BB Support techs, I came up with these steps and worked for me, even though that Playbook should connect automatically as other devices do. Moreover, of course I am not going to ask everyday the IT guys for a router reset.

 

Here it goes :

 

1- If you own a lap top/pc connected to your work Wifi network, open the network adapter window on the PC. Go to wifi adapter and left-click on properties in order to display detailed connection status.

2- From there you may obtain a valid subnet mask, Default Gateway, Primary DNS and Secondary DNS.

3- Since the IP Address was already obtained by your Playbook while trying to connect, it will be asking for the same IP each time, so write down the Playbook IP too. You can access it from the wifi? Icon on the wifi configuration script on the playbook.

 

(The issue here was that for some reason, my Playbook on "auto IP mode" was choosing a different default gateway number than the correct one. I still can't figure why, but I'm not going to invest more time on it, until a new software update becomes available and go from there.)

 

4- In your playbook tap the wifi icon and go to saved networks, tap on edit (pencil) and delete your office previous connection.

5- Create manually a new wifi connection and unselect "auto IP mode". You will have the opportunity to copy all the information mentioned above. IP, Subnet Mask, Primary DNS. Secondary DNS and Default Gateway.

6- Tap save and connect.

 

Hopefully you Playbook will be online and ready to navigate.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
saimsaiyed
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-10-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 8900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: WiFi WPA2 Enterprise not workign

I followed the instruction but still I am not able to connect to my enterprise network, iPhone connects smoothly. in our environment we get IP address and rest of things from DHCP. Please help if someone has solved it.

 

Thanks,

SS

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
carmean
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-18-2013
My Device: Playbook 32GB
My Carrier: na

Re: WiFi WPA2 Enterprise not working

[ Edited ]

I was following directions to 'Connect Manually' and entered PEAP but did not see the place to enter 'MS-CHAPv2' (the Inner Security Link).   

 

If you access the the Wi-Fi setup from the Home page Setup icon, IT WILL NOT HAVE THIS REQUIRED OPTION.  You need to access the wireless wi-fi setup from the home screen- tap on the wi-fi fan symbol, tap again wi-fi fan in the box (maybe a downward swipe from the top right wifi symbol will get you there as well.

 

Again- DO NOT TRY TO ACCESS WIFI from the SETUP icon.  If after choosing 'WPA2 Enterprise' you don't see the Inner security link option, go back and access the setup so you do see it.

 

Very bad user interface design, I am not impressed.  Playbook 32GB.  It now [UPDATE- VERY RARELY or never] connects to our secure network but drops the connection much more often than any of our Android or other (mainly Apple) devices.  We are very unhappy.  

Please use plain text.