Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: rogers

new update

After the last update I can no longer connect to WiFi tried reseting and reentering info manually nothing seens to work any suggestions?

Posts: 90,324
Likes: 23,925
Solutions: 6,163
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: new update

Coifshima, is this one Wifi router, or any you have tried?

I would recommend you try restarting (touch the battery icon at top right > restart) and try connecting again.


Also, try connecting to a different router, like a free open WiFi hotspot such as at a McDonalds or Starbucks.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Regular Contributor
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎07-07-2012
My Device: BB ZED 10
My Carrier: Fido

Re: new update

Just another suggestion is to reboot the router, sometimes that helps when a connection cannot be made. I had 3 PlayBooks trying to connect yesterday and all failed until I rebooted the router. Might work,

Smile, it makes people wonder what you are up to. Smiley Happy
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: rogers

Re: new update

I restarted the playbook several times and it didn't work.

I haven't tried other routers yet but I'll give it a try.

If that doesn't work does anyone else have any ideas? 

Regular Contributor
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎07-07-2012
My Device: BB ZED 10
My Carrier: Fido

Re: new update

Hi, did you try to reboot your router also?

Smile, it makes people wonder what you are up to. Smiley Happy
Posts: 90,324
Likes: 23,925
Solutions: 6,163
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: new update

Good suggestion, Original_Lucy.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: rogers

Re: new update

Yes I rebooted the router as well still nothing

Posts: 90,324
Likes: 23,925
Solutions: 6,163
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: new update

Ok. Try a local free hot spot like a McDonald's or Starbucks.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: rogers

Re: new update

bars apear on WiFi icon but they are grey not green.  Still no connection, thinkiing of a security wipe

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: rogers

Re: new update

Did a security wipe and made the problem worse. Still can't get WiFi to work and now I cant even do a setup because step 2 is connect to the internet.  Now what?