Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
My Device: playbook tablet
My Carrier: Y
Accepted Solution

password required before updating software

password required before updating software to unlock the playbook and i couldn't remember it, there are two attempts only Smiley Sad

what can i do please?

Developer
Posts: 863
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: Z30 / PlayBook 64GB
My Carrier: Virgin Mobile UK

Re: password required before updating software

Not much.

If you can't remember your password - you need to wipe it by finishing all the password attempts.

Sorry.

Follow me on Twitter1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
My Device: playbook tablet
My Carrier: Y

Re: password required before updating software

can i use it again ? after finishing the 10 wrong passwords?

Developer
Posts: 863
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: Z30 / PlayBook 64GB
My Carrier: Virgin Mobile UK

Re: password required before updating software

Yes you can - but I believe the PlayBook will carry out a security wipe when you have used your 10th attempt. (I haven't personally tried this Smiley Happy)

Once done, it will go through the initial setup and then it will you will be like new.

Follow me on Twitter1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
My Device: playbook tablet
My Carrier: Y

Re: password required before updating software

after choosing language , i can't connect to Wi-Fi .

any suggestion? Smiley Happy

Developer
Posts: 863
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: Z30 / PlayBook 64GB
My Carrier: Virgin Mobile UK

Re: password required before updating software

Different problem. Have you tried manually entering the wifi details.

Alternatively, restart the PlayBook and try it on someone else's wifi network.

Follow me on Twitter1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
My Device: playbook tablet
My Carrier: Y

Re: password required before updating software

it can't find any network !!!

Guru III
Posts: 31,433
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: password required before updating software

thread marked solved will not have many look at it

 

if not solved please remove the solution

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-11-2012
My Device: Passport
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: password required before updating software

Same problem with the Wifi setup after an update, seem that the PlayBook software dont see the MAC address, i solved with a wipe.

Wizardxp
Matteo Vismara
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
My Device: playbook tablet
My Carrier: Y

Re: password required before updating software

knottyrope , the problem of the password solved. this is another one. any way, i gave up hope Smiley Sad

 

wizardxp, i can't enter any screen except the wifi setup.