If you are using Internet Explorer, please remove blackberry.com from your compatibility view settings.

Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
New Contributor
mskiby
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-20-2010
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Windmobile

playbook volume not mouting ???

update my OS to most recent on playbook 2.1.0.1088

 

update my desktop software to 7.1.0.33

 

can't get playbook to connect to desktop manager, the drive wont mount ... 

 

please help.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mskiby
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-20-2010
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Windmobile

Re: playbook volume not mounting ???

oops.meant to say that the drive isn't mounting loading properly ... 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
BMWBarrister
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎11-17-2010
My Device: Torch 9800 + Playbook > Z10

Re: playbook volume not mounting ???

 

Me too.. after I updated BB Desktop Software to 7.1.0.33 I can't seem to connect to my PlayBook.

 

RIMM is very frustrating and stuipid issues like this one make me question BB 10. RIMM cannot seem to execute and is just stupid. I've been a very, very long-time BB user and still am but...

 

You can't fix stupid.

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran I
jarviser
Posts: 1,625
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
My Device: Two PB's

Re: playbook volume not mounting ???

99% it's Window's lousy networking and usb driver errors. Or antivirus.  or firewall. 

 

_________________________
Please use plain text.
Developer
cas118
Posts: 860
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: Z30 / PlayBook 64GB
My Carrier: Virgin Mobile UK

Re: playbook volume not mouting ???

Jaywlee, it's RIM, not RIMM.

And as Jarviser has said - it is almost guaranteed to be a windows issue.

Make sure that the PlayBook is set to connect to Windows instead of automatic detect in the sharing options and if it still doesn't work, try uninstalling and reinstalling the BlackBerry Desktop Manager while the PlayBook is disconnected.

Follow me on Twitter1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mskiby
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-20-2010
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Windmobile

Re: playbook volume not mouting ???

switching to windows connect instead of auto detect seems to have fixed the problem

 

thank you

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mskiby
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-20-2010
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Windmobile

Re: playbook volume not mounting ???

i lied ... when the playbook allowed me to start the back up ... i thought i was in business...

 

tablet wont mount still ... turned off firewall / anti virus ...

 

all  i have is a book weight. that is useless ....

 

can't do anything if the drive / volume wont mount ...

Please use plain text.
Contributor
BMWBarrister
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎11-17-2010
My Device: Torch 9800 + Playbook > Z10

Re: playbook volume not mounting ???

 

mskiby wrote:

i lied ... when the playbook allowed me to start the back up ... i thought i was in business...

 

tablet wont mount still ... turned off firewall / anti virus ...

 

all  i have is a book weight. that is useless ....

 

can't do anything if the drive / volume wont mount ...


 

Can you still connect using WiFi? I can connect to my files over WiF. In explorer, type in your PB's IP address or Start > Run > [Enter your PB's WiFi IP]

 

You can find your IP address on your PB under Settings (Gear Icon on upper right) > About > Network > IPv4

 

I can at least access my work files via WiFi.

 

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
BMWBarrister
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎11-17-2010
My Device: Torch 9800 + Playbook > Z10

Re: playbook volume not mouting ???


Thanks for trying to help. Your solution isn't the answer and is not the answer to R.I.M.'s problems either. They really need to execute better or they will remain a going concern. Believe me, I want to seem them succeed but they continually falter with their strategy and, perhaps more critically, their execution. The end user should not have to have these issues, among the many others I have.

I still cannot use my front-facing camera after the PB update due to a bug in their software. There are other bugs that need to be worked out.

I have an interest in seeing RIMM succeed, but they need to follow through and deliver on their products.

BTW, RIMM is finance for R.I.M. (NASDAQ: RIMM). Just Google "RIMM."
Please use plain text.