Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry Push Development

Reply
Contributor
bryantliu
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-22-2012
My Carrier: BB 10 developer

Help: PPG server error.

[ Edited ]

Hi:

 

My app stopped to receive pushes this week. I believe it worked before this week and i didn't change anything since last week. I found out that the problem is that when i try to create a channel, this shows up: "Create channel failed as the PPG is currently returning a server error." 

 

I'm testing with a bb10 dev alpha device with wireless network.

 

Any help?

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
mdandrea
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Help: PPG server error.

Hi,

 

Are you using WiFi or cell on the device when you do the createChannel call?

If using WiFi, switch over to use cell to see if the createChannel goes through successfully.  

(Just to determine if maybe your WiFi connection is somehow blocking things.)

 

Thanks,

 

Matt

Please use plain text.
Contributor
bryantliu
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-22-2012
My Carrier: BB 10 developer

Re: Help: PPG server error.

[ Edited ]

so do i need to insert a sim card and connect to BIS network to test? Did they change the way push work? 

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
mdandrea
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Help: PPG server error.

No, you should not have to.  I'm just trying to rule out that your WiFi network is causing this issue for you.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
bryantliu
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-22-2012
My Carrier: BB 10 developer

Re: Help: PPG server error.

OK, I don't know how to switch over to cell. XD
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
mdandrea
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Help: PPG server error.

If you don't have a SIM card you can test with, you could also try a different WiFi network - even a publicly available one at Starbucks, McDonald's, etc. - to see if it works there.

Typically, this error should not be seen if you have a valid PPG URL.  You could also double check your PPG URL to make sure it is correct.

 

Matt

 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
bryantliu
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-22-2012
My Carrier: BB 10 developer

Re: Help: PPG server error.

Ok, i see, I will try to test more.

Thank you very much!
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
mdandrea
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Help: PPG server error.

Just a follow up couple of things to test:

1. Make sure the BlackBerry logo appears in the top right corner of your device when connected to the wireless network.

2. Are you able to use other BlackBerry services such as BBM successfully?

 

Thanks,

 

Matt

Please use plain text.