Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry Push Development

Reply
Developer
pyth
Posts: 505
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
My Device: My Trusty Red Plane
My Carrier: Outer Space
Accepted Solution

How to test with public push?

Hi everyone,

 

I was asked to add Push to an application which is already available in AppWorld. The Push service is publicly available (and pushes a notification every now and then), and there are apps already, which are using that push. The application was written in AIR with the newest AIR SDK, and the signing keys were registered in 2011.

 

 

Here my questions:

- is it possible to create a test application without signing, which also gets those push messages? I tried using the test application, found on github, but when I add the url, it returns me a server error ("Create channel failed as the PPG is currently returning a server error. ...")

- on the other hand, when I'm checking out the directory/src, and compile it, it seems to run on my device. It also registers the push-URL without error. It even looks like I got a push message while testing, but the InvokeManager.invokeManager.startupRequest was empty. Maybe because I ran it in Debug-Mode? :?

- do I have to register my keys again, because I want to use push? There was a blog post some time ago, that all newly registered keys automatically allow push, but what about the keys that were registered 2 years ago? Do I have to register those again?

 

 

Thank you

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm a bird from outer space. But I'm not flappy o.o
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: How to test with public push?

Push is no longer dependent on code signing keys and is not affected by running in debug and/or release mode. Please *do not* register a new set of keys.

 

What is the URL you are using on the client (removing the CP # for security reasons)? 

What is the error code returned?

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
pyth
Posts: 505
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
My Device: My Trusty Red Plane
My Carrier: Outer Space

Re: How to test with public push?

Hi gbeukeboom

 

I will send you the URL as PM.

The error I'm getting is 10110 PPG_SERVER_ERROR, though I'm not getting that when I'm compiling the sample app myself :?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm a bird from outer space. But I'm not flappy o.o
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: How to test with public push?

It works when you compile it yourself? Who is compiling when it fails? 

Do you have both your app and the one someone else is compiling on the device at the same time?

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
pyth
Posts: 505
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
My Device: My Trusty Red Plane
My Carrier: Outer Space

Re: How to test with public push?

[ Edited ]

the github sample for AIR provides a sample application, precompiled and signed by BlackBerry. But I'm getting the PPG error there :/. And yes, I have both apps on my device at the same time, with different Application IDs

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm a bird from outer space. But I'm not flappy o.o
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: How to test with public push?

Do you have both your app and the one from GitHub on the device at the same time?

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: How to test with public push?

[ Edited ]

I received ome info from pyth via PM. With BlackBerry 10 there is no BIS data plan and the Push Service takes care of the port for you, so all you need to specify is the PPG URL using HTTP that was provided back from your push registration

 

EX http://cp111222.pushapi.eval.blackberry.com

 

The above URL is an EVAL URL though, so it will expire a few months after receiving it, instead you should be using a URL such as:

http://cp111222.pushapi.na.blackberry.com

 

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
pyth
Posts: 505
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
My Device: My Trusty Red Plane
My Carrier: Outer Space

Re: How to test with public push?

soooooo.......I cannot use Public/BIS with BB10? As long as there is no data plan?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm a bird from outer space. But I'm not flappy o.o
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: How to test with public push?


pyth wrote:

soooooo.......I cannot use Public/BIS with BB10? As long as there is no data plan?


There is no need to use BIS with BlackBerry 10, it uses a standard data plan. You can test push with any SIM card with a data plan or on WiFi.

 

I think your main issue is that you were trying to use an expired EVAL account and trying to use a production URL with the port specified, both would result in failures.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
pyth
Posts: 505
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
My Device: My Trusty Red Plane
My Carrier: Outer Space

Re: How to test with public push?

ah okay. Then I guess, it's back to testing now :smileytongue:. Thank you for your help!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm a bird from outer space. But I'm not flappy o.o
Please use plain text.