Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry Push Development

New Contributor
romyo0o
My Device: bold

How to use PushService to push notification | NullPointerException

Hello,

i'm new in blackberry notification development and i want to send a notification and get back a result with status

and I'm using PushService  as below:

IdGenerator idGenerator = new IdGeneratorImpl();

Content content = new TextContent("test");

PushService pushService = new PushServiceImpl();

PushSDKProperties pushSDKProperties = new PushSDKPropertiesImpl();

pushSDKProperties.setPublicPpgAddress("https://pushapi.eval.blackberry.com/mss/PD_pushRequest");

pushSDKProperties.setHttpIsPersistent(true);

pushSDKProperties.setHttpConnectionTimeout(60000);

pushSDKProperties.setHttpReadTimeout(120000); PushParameters pushParameters = new PushParameters(id.toString(), bbBins, content); pushParameters.setApplicationReliable(true); pushService.setPushSDKProperties(pushSDKProperties); pushService.setPushIdGenerator(idGenerator); // TODO check below line pushService.setPapService(new PapServiceImpl()); pushService.push(pushParameters);

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

it throws null pointer exception

Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException
    at net.rim.pushsdk.push.PushServiceImpl.validateAppForPush(PushServiceImpl.java:634)
    at net.rim.pushsdk.push.PushServiceImpl.validatePush(PushServiceImpl.java:648)
    at net.rim.pushsdk.push.PushServiceImpl.push(PushServiceImpl.java:196)
    at com.etisalat.mobilenotification.BlackBerryNotifier.sendNotificationWithPushService(BlackBerryNotifier.java:197)
    at com.etisalat.mobilenotification.BlackBerryNotifier.push(BlackBerryNotifier.java:74)

Please, what provide me with the feedback

Thanks

Regular Contributor
mdicesare
My Device: BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha