Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry Push Development

Contributor
My Device: None
My Carrier: None

Push architecture with tomcat

[ Edited ]

Hello

I just want some comments on about how I am thinking on how to implement push notifications for my app.  I am not used to setup servers and before I spend too much time,  I just want to know that I am not doing something completely wrong. I am also new to BlackBerry. My organization, in which I am trying to implement push messages, are using a BlackBerry Enterprise server

I already have a .net server which acts as my backend.

I will install the push sdk together with tomcat and mysql on a new server. This server should act as a push server for multiple applications.

When I want to notify my push-enabled clients that there are new data on my .NET server, I guess my server should make a HTTP request to my push server. My .NET server most specify which application that has new data so that the push server will know which clients should be notified. As far as I understand the push sdk + tomcat server installation will handle the push clients registrations and will therefore have a database with all the client ids. So I guess there most be some kind of an application id also on each registration entry?

My clients most call my .NET server which then will call my Push server to register for push messages. I need some extra information from my clients, that's why my clients don't call the push server directly.

If I choose to use all the standard settings, which ports needs to be open in my firewall?

I don't need to add any extra code to the push sdk right? I mean it should be ready to use out of the box after I have added an application in the tomcat setup.