Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry Push Development

Reply
Contributor
demonmaker
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
My Device: Developer, Playbook, Curve 9300, Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T
Accepted Solution

Push no longer working after upgrading from BES 4 to BES Express 5

I have a webworks app that I push data to through a desktop app. It has been working well, but we have recently started migrating our users to BES 5.0.3 from BES 4 (not sure of the exact version). We have the servers running parallel at the moment until all users are switched.

 

For the users that have been moved, I built an alternate web service to route the pushes through the new server. All I did was change the ip address of the server in my code. Now when I get to the point where I call GetRequestStream() in the service it is unable to connect to the server.

 

It looks like the MDS service is running on the BES and all of the ports are the same, but I cannot connect. Any ideas where I might look next in the BES configuration or do I need to make a more substantial change to my web service other than just changing the server address?

 

Thanks for the help.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Push no longer working after upgrading from BES 4 to BES Express 5

Server address change should be all that's required, BES 5 supports all the same Push types as BES 4. May be worth trying the HTTPPushDemo, it may help to simplify the process and give you some distance from the problem to see if the BES is actually receiving Push data properly.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Contributor
demonmaker
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
My Device: Developer, Playbook, Curve 9300, Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Push no longer working after upgrading from BES 4 to BES Express 5

I built and ran the httppushdemo server app against our bes and it failed to connect and timed out.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Push no longer working after upgrading from BES 4 to BES Express 5

Can you browse to http://<address_of_your_bes>:8080? If not then you definitely have an issue, but regardless you should check with the admin that Push is allowed and the port you are pushing to is still the one being used.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Contributor
demonmaker
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
My Device: Developer, Playbook, Curve 9300, Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Push no longer working after upgrading from BES 4 to BES Express 5

I cannot browse and see the MDS page, but I cannot do that on the old server either and it still works.

 

The BES admin and I have compared settings between the two servers and as far as we can tell, they are the same. We don't know if anything new was added to BES 5 that we might need to check or not. 

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Push no longer working after upgrading from BES 4 to BES Express 5

Unless some custom configuration was done on the v4 BES then Push should be supported in the exact same way in a default v5 BES.

 

This is leading to be more of a server-side issue where you will need to post to another board or open a support ticket, but there are a few more things we can try.

 

1) Can you access the BAS console from the same computer that is sending the Push?

2) Can you ping the IP and URL of the BES?

3) Are the BES and BAS installed to the same server?

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Contributor
demonmaker
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
My Device: Developer, Playbook, Curve 9300, Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Push no longer working after upgrading from BES 4 to BES Express 5

I will get back with you on monday when the bes admin is back in the office. I will need her to answer 1 and 3, but yes I can ping the server.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
demonmaker
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
My Device: Developer, Playbook, Curve 9300, Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Push no longer working after upgrading from BES 4 to BES Express 5

We are unable to access the BAS remotely. We are trying to use the same url as the shortcut on the desktop of the machine that BAS is installed on, but that doesn't work.

The BES and BAS are on the same server.
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Push no longer working after upgrading from BES 4 to BES Express 5

In that case it sounds like you have some networking issues that need to be investigated. I would recommend engaging your support if you have a support contract and/or posting to the BES boards:
http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-Enterprise-Server/bd-p/bes5

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Contributor
demonmaker
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
My Device: Developer, Playbook, Curve 9300, Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Push no longer working after upgrading from BES 4 to BES Express 5

Ok, we have support and contacted them about this last week. We sent them our logs, but we never heard back.
Please use plain text.