Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry Push Development

Developer
peter9477
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none
Accepted Solution

Use of push-id and payload id in BB10?

I'm fairly new to Push stuff so this may be covered elsewhere. I didn't find anything by searching the forums.

When sending the push, the PAP <push-message> contains a push-id attribute. This seems to be an arbitrary string that I can specify.

When receiving a push, the PushPayload instance has an id() which is also a string, documented as "Returns the push identifier.". It appears it may be set by the system and unrelated to anything in the push itself, and so far appears to be set to "<APPID>_<some-integer>".

Is there any relationship between these?

What's the purpose of the push-id attribute?  I'm doing "open loop" pushes through BIS with the basic Push service (not Push Plus), so my assumption is if I were using Push Plus or sending through BES10 it would be a useful identifier for querying the status of the push.

What's the purpose of the PushPayload id property, and if it's correct that the docs say it returns the "push identifier", then what is the push identifier and is there any connection to the push-id property above?

Thanks for any comments you may have.

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Use of push-id and payload id in BB10?

Hi Peter,