Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry Push Development

Reply
Regular Visitor
balakumar
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-31-2010
My Carrier: vodafone

how to configure MDS server

hi.. am new to the push technologies.. 

I ve lot of questions and queries about that.. am listing my major problems now..  any earlier help ll be very helpful..

 

1. in the  HTTP PushSample Demo whats the MDS server ip address. 

 

2. Should i get a Enterprise  Server for data push or can i achieve it with Express Server  itself ?

 

3. Can i get any sample code for server side

 

Thanks in advance.. 

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Developer
gokul_1986
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: how to configure MDS server

Hi ,

 

i am also working on the same application http push demo. This works fine on simulator. if you find the way to make it work on device. Please let me know


Actually i got BlackBerry JDE Plug-in for Eclipse
HTTP Push Sample Application PDF from your site.which works fine on simulator using MDS available with me.As the documentation mentioned the APP can be supported in device as well. Can you please provide me more details how to make this app working on device. your help is highly required in time.

Thanks in advance
Gokul S

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,060
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Carrier: Bell

Re: how to configure MDS server

The MSD Server address is the IP address that is running the MDS Connection Service, which is a component of the BlackBerry Enterprise Server and BlackBerry Enterprise Server Express.

 

The httppushdemo includes both client and server code samples, which are installed with the BlackBerry JDE and BlackBerry Java SDK.

 

Client sample:

samples\com\rim\samples\device\httppushdemo

 

Server Sample:

samples\com\rim\samples\server\httppushdemo

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
lgdito
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎09-04-2008

Re: how to configure MDS server

One additional hint i sometimes :smileyvery-happy: forget:

 

When launching the httppushdemo in the simulator (together with a running MDS-CS) you have to start the browser and open any webpage on the BlackBerry simulator. Before that you will be not able to receive any pushes.

 

(I didn´t tested this with the final version of eclipse plugin 1.1 yet - hope this step isn´t necessary there?)

---

My Twitter:
http://twitter.com/lgentz
Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,060
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Carrier: Bell

Re: how to configure MDS server

 


lgdito wrote:

 

(I didn´t tested this with the final version of eclipse plugin 1.1 yet - hope this step isn´t necessary there?)


 

This requirement remains.  In fact, this requirement also exists on a real BlackBerry Enterprise Server unless you do the following...

 

How To - Use reliable push without making a BlackBerry Browser request

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800451/800563/How_To_...

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.