Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Q10

Reply
New Member
zoziau
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-04-2013
My Device: Q10

Contact duplicate

Hello, I have all my contact duplicate 5 or 6 times... I don't want to sync anymore and even connect my q10 to my computer... How can I erase all those duplicate?

There is no option to select all contact and erase them all at the same time...basic command. I can even think to erase one by one...7.000 contacts

I might think it may come through my gmail account???.

Thx for your help

JSanders
Posts: 86,430
Likes: 23,181
Solutions: 5,982
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Contact duplicate

[ Edited ]

First, how your are contacts loaded to your Q10, are they syncing via an email account such as Yahoo or Gmail?


Contacts on the BlackBerry10 devices can either be "local" (installed or transferred to the device in the initial setup from a legacy, older BlackBerry device), or contacts can be synced from the 'cloud', such as with gmail, yahoo, hotmail, or outlook.com email servers.

 

Your "local" contacts can be all cleared at once... Open your main Settings (swipe down from the top bezel) > Accounts > touch the overflow three dots icon > Clear local contacts.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Developer
McJagger
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎05-22-2013
My Device: Q10

Re: Contact duplicate

I had this issue when I migrated my contacts over from my old BB to my Q10.

 

I tried multiple times and each time it had 1-6 copies of each contact.

 

I had to manually delete the redundant copies. There is no way around it. The Sync feature in BB10 is busted.

JSanders
Posts: 86,430
Likes: 23,181
Solutions: 5,982
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Contact duplicate

where are you syncing your contacts from?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
karaterulz
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-03-2013
My Device: Q10

Re: Contact duplicate

When i started my Q10, all my contacts sync with facebook and gmail.

Everything was ok, but i erase some contacts that were sync from facebook.

Now i want to sync 2 local contacts with facebook and it doesn't work..

How can i add some contacts that i have in facebook and i've erased from contacts ???

 

Maybe i'm not being understand, and i will give you an example.

 

I had John Smith in my contacts from facebook, but i have deleted from contacts.

Today, i've added John Smith in contacts and it doesn't sync with facebook.

It doesn't shows the picture from facebook like the other contacts that i have.

What can i do ?

 

JSanders
Posts: 86,430
Likes: 23,181
Solutions: 5,982
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Contact duplicate

ok.


karaterulz wrote:

 

I had John Smith in my contacts from facebook, but i have deleted from contacts. You deleted John Smith from your Facebook contacts.

Today, i've added John Smith in contacts and it doesn't sync with facebook. Because you added John Smith back to your LOCAL contacts, not to Facebook.

It doesn't shows the picture from facebook like the other contacts that i have. And, it won't, because you deleted your Facebook contact with John Smith already


  • What you SHOULD have done, is leave your Facebook contact with John Smith intact on your device.
  • Create the new LOCAL contact with John Smith.
  • Open the local John Smith contact > open the contact > touch the LINK function at the bottom of the contact > search for the John Smith contact in Facebook and LINK those two contacts as one.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
karaterulz
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-03-2013
My Device: Q10

Re: Contact duplicate

Now i know what i have to do, but for what i've did ?

 

1. Because i was stupid, at the begining i erase 50 contacts from facebook.

What can i do to add some of that contacts back into my q10 facebook contacts  ???

 

2. Today on facebook (www.facebook.com) i've added one contact, but it doesn't appear on my facebook contacts on Q10. 

There is no refresh buton to refresh my facebook contacts.

What can i do ?

Contributor
karaterulz
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-03-2013
My Device: Q10

Re: Contact duplicate

So .... i understand that is nothing to be made ???

 

Nobody cand answer me ????

 

Why isn't a refresh button to add the facebook contacts in my list ????

 

JSanders
Posts: 86,430
Likes: 23,181
Solutions: 5,982
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Contact duplicate


karaterulz wrote:

Now i know what i have to do, but for what i've did ?

 

1. Because i was stupid, at the begining i erase 50 contacts from facebook.

What can i do to add some of that contacts back into my q10 facebook contacts  ???

 

2. Today on facebook (www.facebook.com) i've added one contact, but it doesn't appear on my facebook contacts on Q10. 

There is no refresh buton to refresh my facebook contacts.

What can i do ?


1. Add them back to your Facebook contacts.

 

2. One way, you can always delete the Facebook account from your Q10, restart, and then add the account.

However, a new address added to the Facebook account on the web should sync to the Q10.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
marcus_anselm
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-29-2010
My Device: Blackberry Q10

Re: Contact duplicate

I have hundreds of duplicate contacts due to having them both in my local contacts from the original link setup synch and my work contacts through active synch/outlook. I have tried many times to delete all my local contacts which I think would solve it but the clear local contacts option doesn't work. I have tried it many times but all my local contacts are still there. Hence I have duplicates. How do I delete local contacts given this option isn't working? Is very frustrating having duplicates.