Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Q10

Contributor
omargaizi
My Device: BB Q10
My Carrier: Etisalate

Re: Overheating Blackberry Q10

If you have a weak signal in a location like office and spending the whole day at work. The phone might get overheated and consume battery to search for the signal. This apply to all phones.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
paulrahmanian
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: AT&T

1. I have been sitting in the same ofiice for the last four years, it is not something new and have always carried 2 BlackBerry devices at the same time, including 9900!

2. Searching for better coverage, consuming more battery or slightly warming up has to be differentiated from going through a full charge in half a day and warming up to over 100 degrees!

3. Hope I'm not misrepresenting my opinion about Q10, I think it is a great phone, but BlackBerry has to get their act right!! There are 1000 and 1000 posts on the forums, all complaining of the same exact symptoms! Someone needs to pay attention! 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
sheldonbk
My Device: Q10, Z10, PlayBook 32

The 9900 did not support LTE networks. Verizon I understand has a good LTE network but it's possible that you're in an area with a weak LTE signal. Changing from LTE... to the setting immediately below dramatically improves battery signal. So, if you don't need the LTE speed, or are in an area with weak LTE signal, it makes sense to drop down from it.

I have also experienced some hot battery situations related to extensive work on the contact list, such as immediately after adding an account with sync'd contacts/calendars like Outlook.com, Gmail and 365. Until the accounts are sync'd for the first time, I notice that the device is hotter than usual, and battery life is shorter than usual.