Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Q10

Reply
Trusted Contributor
lmgeuk
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
My Device: Leaving Q10 for the 9900
Accepted Solution

Q10 - How to copy and paste text

Hello again,

still trying to figure out how to use the Q10

The latest roadblock is that i cannot figure out how to select, copy and paste text in this device.

Frankly, i can find no way of selecting text without the "mouse button"

Also, i can find neither copy nor paste functions.

 

Can anyone provide insight, please?

 

thank you

Please use plain text.
Contributor
Rockie
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
My Device: BB Q10
My Carrier: Fido

Re: Q10 - How to copy and paste text

LOL I am wondering the same thing. I found how to select the words or sentences but the copy and paste function I have not as yet.
Please use plain text.
New Member
stenb
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-14-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Q10 - How to copy and paste text

I found this. Hope it helps. I am still getting used to how sensitve the screen is.

 

Text Selection and Cut, Copy and Paste To help manage text, here are a few important things you should know!

  • Cursor Indicator – Drag the cursor, or tap left, right, up or down on the cursor itself to move it to a specific location.
  • Selecting Text – Touch and hold the text, then move the cursor indicators to change your selection.
  • Copying Text – Tap and hold the highlighted text and select Copy
  • Cutting Text – Tap and hold the highlighted text and select Cut
  • Pasting Text – Touch and hold where you want the text and select Paste
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
lmgeuk
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
My Device: Leaving Q10 for the 9900

Re: Q10 - How to copy and paste text

Ok, thank you, but... How to you select text? What is a cursor - the q10 does not have a trackball ... This touch screen thing without trackball is not a very easy to handle, for me at least I think I need something a bit more basic, to be frank...
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mrkhalife
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-20-2009
My Device: BB Q10
My Carrier: Mobinil

Re: Q10 - How to copy and paste text

When you long press on a word a blue shade will appear with two dots at either end. These dots can be moved to highlight the text you want to copy. Then Touch the highlighted text again and see stenb response above for more info
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
lmgeuk
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
My Device: Leaving Q10 for the 9900

Re: Q10 - How to copy and paste text

Thank you.
Now i get it!
It will take some getting used to, but that will work.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Spooky216
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-06-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: O2

Re: Q10 - How to copy and paste text

Thanks. It's a bit rubbish though. Took me 20 minutes to try to select text - in the end I had to select more than I wanted as it is not very precise at all and pasted it into an email and then deleted back the extra bits I didnt want.

Definitely nowhere as accurate, easy or reliable as my previous BB Bold.

Hopefully the powers that be will find a better way to use this very necessary and basic function.

 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
lmgeuk
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
My Device: Leaving Q10 for the 9900

Re: Q10 - How to copy and paste text

Spooky

 

You will find that there are a lot of bugs in the new operating software.

many of the basic productivity functions are suboptimal or missing all together.

this website is filled with workaround suggestions and people arguing that the new device is better than the old, because it has more toys on it.

 

lets hope the bugs get finxed in due course.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
raudig
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-26-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Q10 - How to copy and paste text

I entirely agree. Even accepting that with time I will bebome proficient with sliding finger across screen for different functions, having to slide the dots wil always be less precise and more time consuming than on my Bold. At very leasr we need an icon to tap to "save all text."

 

Raudig

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
B00001
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-22-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Q10 - How to copy and paste text

I have found that if you have the 'dots' you can put your finger on either dot, move (drag) your finger down a bit, a line forms. Makes it easier to slide those dots (select each letter and space) you are wanting to copy/cut/paste.
Please use plain text.