Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Q10

Reply
New Contributor
harrydn
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-09-2011
My Device: 9780
My Carrier: Vodafone

Setting Google.co.uk as Search Engine

Is there any way to set google UK as the search engine on the browser rather than the google.com option?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mrkhalife
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-20-2009
My Device: BB Q10
My Carrier: Mobinil

Re: Setting Google.co.uk as Search Engine

set a bookmark in your browser for google.co.uk, that's the only work around for now
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
ColemanNinety3
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-09-2013
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8520 (or something)
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Setting Google.co.uk as Search Engine

http://www.google.com/m/search?q=%s
Type that in my friend :smileyhappy:
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
ColemanNinety3
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-09-2013
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8520 (or something)
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Setting Google.co.uk as Search Engine

http://www.google.co.uk/m/search?q=%s
Oops! Haha this one of course
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
lmgeuk
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
My Device: Leaving Q10 for the 9900

Re: Setting Google.co.uk as Search Engine

Coleman,

 

I think the question was not if it was possible to go to Google on the web, but if there is a way to set google as the default search engine, instead of bing?

 

is there a way?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
harrydn
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-09-2011
My Device: 9780
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Setting Google.co.uk as Search Engine

lmgeuk you are correct.

 

I never found anywhere to do this on my Q10. Unfortunately this was one of a number of reasons why I decided to leave Blackberry and moved to the Samsung Galaxy S4 which i am afraid I have to recommened to all.

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
lmgeuk
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
My Device: Leaving Q10 for the 9900

Re: Setting Google.co.uk as Search Engine

Well, I am still trying to figure out how to get the Q10 to work.

The Samsung is not an option, as it does not have a keyboard, which would be even worse.

 

thank you anyway.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
harrydn
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-09-2011
My Device: 9780
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Setting Google.co.uk as Search Engine

Good luck - hope you manage to find a way.

 

I was always against the touch screen but finally getting used to it with the swipe technique. I definitely miss the keyboard though (still amazes me BB are the only keyboard phone as I am sure there is demand), but all the extra features I get make me ask how I coped so long without them!

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
lmgeuk
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
My Device: Leaving Q10 for the 9900

Re: Setting Google.co.uk as Search Engine

Well, for me it is simple:

MUST HAVES:

- Contacts

- Calendar

- Email

- Telephone

- Notes

- Physical QWERTY key board

 

Nice to Haves:

- Internet

- SMS

- Camera

- Maps/GPS

- Calculator

 

Must NOT haves:

- Facebook

- Twitter

 

Completely Irrelevant:

- Music

- Games

- Weather

- anything else not mentioned above

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
harrydn
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-09-2011
My Device: 9780
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Setting Google.co.uk as Search Engine

Good list and a few weeks ago I was exactly the same but now my 'nice to haves' and 'Completel Irrelevant (except games)' have all moved onto my must haves!

Please use plain text.