Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Q10

Reply
Contributor
r1jacoby
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-02-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: rogers

speed dial

on the last phone it used to hae a 1-touch speed dial. simply push down a key and the phone number would be dialed.  have they added that great feature back in with this weeks software update?

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
fuzzymonkey30
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎10-18-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: speed dial

They have a speed dial feature but it doesn't work the same as it use to on the older phones. Once you set the speed dial key, instructions below, to call that contact using the speed dial key you have to open the phone app and tap the dialpad key then press the speed dial button. A link can be found here for complete instructions.

 

Add a contact to your keyboard speed dial list
In the Phone app, swipe down from the top of the screen.
Tap The Settings icon > Keypress Speed Dial.
Press the key on your keyboard that you want to associate with the contact.
Tap the contact that you want to associate with the key on your keyboard.
After you finish: To call a contact from your keyboard speed dial list, in the Phone app, tap The Dialpad icon. Press and hold the key that you associated with the contact.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
r1jacoby
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-02-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: rogers

Re: speed dial

That's 3 steps vs a single step. Not much of a speed dial.
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
fuzzymonkey30
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎10-18-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: speed dial

Agreed, it's not much of a speed dial but it's the closest thing you'll get on the Q10.

You can also add favourites which show up at the top of the phone app which can speed up the process a little by reducing the steps to 2 but you can only have 3 contacts there. For now those are the options available for "speed dial".
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,992
Likes: 22,689
Solutions: 5,842
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: speed dial

I have been told changes and updates to speed dial are coming... but not in the current OS 10.2




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
freakinvibe
Posts: 607
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Swisscom

Re: speed dial

With 10.2 the speed dial got simpler for me:

Open the phone app
Press and hold the speed dial key

So one step less than in 10.1
Please use plain text.