Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Q10

Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Indosat

transfer bbm contacts and group from Z10 to Q10

hi,

 

i switched device from Z10 to Q10 but bbm contacts and groups was not transfered. it (bbm) read the blackberry ID when i first open bbm but it doesn't restore anything. tried to wiped the q10 and re-switched device but it still doesn't work. tried to restore manually doesn't work either. 

when i connect my old Z10 to wifi, bbm on z10 still work. how to move this bbm contacts and group z10 to q10 ?

Best,
Posts: 90,609
Likes: 23,976
Solutions: 6,170
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: transfer bbm contacts and group from Z10 to Q10

Once you enter the same BBID on your Q10 as you had on your Z10, the BBM contacts will be transfered and available on your Q10. It very likely will take a few minutes, as the sync occurs. Be patient.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Indosat

Re: transfer bbm contacts and group from Z10 to Q10

Hi jSanders,

 

 

Thank you for your reply, there still no contact and group sync to Q10 now (12 hours approximately). is there any other option to transfer contacts and groups between 2 BB 10 ? manually perhaps ? there are 345 contacts and 26 groups in Z10. Smiley Sad 

 

If it sync, what happen to bbm z10 ? is it still can be use for bbm ? does someone that in my Z10 bbm contact will have my Q10 bbm also (two contact of me automatically) ?

 

 

Best,

 

Posts: 90,609
Likes: 23,976
Solutions: 6,170
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: transfer bbm contacts and group from Z10 to Q10

iqbalw, you can use ONLY one BBID on one device. You cannot use the same BBID on two devices.

 

You will need to choose which device to use it on, and create another new BBID on the other deivce.

 

For your Q10 now awaiting the BBM sync, try to Do a simple reboot on the BlackBerry in this manner: With the BlackBerry device POWERED ON, remove the battery for a minute, and then reinsert the battery to reboot. A reboot in this manner is prescribed for most glitches and operating system errors, and you will lose no data on the device doing this.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Indosat

Re: transfer bbm contacts and group from Z10 to Q10

Hi Jsandres,

 

still no luck with simple reboot, should i wipe Z10 first ? 

 

 

Best

New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Indosat

Re: transfer bbm contacts and group from Z10 to Q10

Today all my contacts and group in Z10 suddenly dissapear. in Q10 BBM there is a message to swith device, i choose it and  follow three steps and now i loss my contact in Z10 and no contacts or group shown in Q10...

 

 

i hope this is bbm sync process from Z10 to Q10 and my contacts/groups will automatically appeared. anybody know how long this sync process will take ? what should i do to make this faster ? where can i contact blackberry technical support for this issue ?

 

frustrating...

Posts: 90,609
Likes: 23,976
Solutions: 6,170
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: transfer bbm contacts and group from Z10 to Q10

The switch and sync of the BBM contacts and groups from one device to the other may take a few hours.

It's faster if you're connected to WiFi.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Indosat

Re: transfer bbm contacts and group from Z10 to Q10

Hi JSanders,

 

Thank you for your answer. my BB almost every time connected to Wifi, i will wait and hope contacts and group sync automatically because i dont have most of my bbm contacts list somewhere else.

 

but if i mannually add some of the contacts, is it okay ? or better wait until it sycn ?

 

 

Best,

Iqbalw

Posts: 90,609
Likes: 23,976
Solutions: 6,170
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: transfer bbm contacts and group from Z10 to Q10

Wait a few hours and see.

 

You ARE using the exact same BlackBerryID as on the other Z10, right?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Indosat

Re: transfer bbm contacts and group from Z10 to Q10

yes,

 

i am using same BB ID as on Z10