Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Q5

New Contributor
My Device: Bold 9790

How do I search all Contacts fields in the Q5 with OS10.2?

Blackberry appear to be advancing backwards with their new Q5 and 10.2 operating system. I originally bought the Blackberry specifically for its ability to search into the notes field of email contacts, which no other phone could do at the time. When the operating system was "upgraded" to OS7 I was disappointed to find out that the Blackberry Search was no longer able to access the Contacts Notes field. But then I discovered the "OldSearch" app. This app replicated the old search functionality and I have been using it on my 9790 quite happily for the past two years. However, when the time came to renew my contract this year I made the BIG MISTAKE of assuming that the Q5 with its OS 10.2 would be a big step forward. I was VERY DISAPPOINTED. Once again the Blackberry search function could not search the notes field of Contacts but, worst of all, OldSearch cannot run on OS 10.2. After four days trying to persevere with the new menu format and combined with the search problem I decided to give up and hand the Q5 back. I have subsequently found out that most cell phones now have the facility to search into the Contacts notes, including the Samsung Galaxy and the iPhone. So, reluctantly, I say bye-bye Blackberry, hello Samsung S4.
Guru I
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.1.2243; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917

Re: How do I search all Contacts fields in the Q5 with OS10.2?

So, you're not really asking how to search contacts notes on the device. You just came to tell us you switched to to the S4.

Good luck!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------