Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Q5

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-18-2014
My Device: BlackBerry Q5 - SQR100-2

Problem when Connecting BB Q5 to BlackBerry Link

 

Good morning,

 

Every time when I connect my Black Berry Q5 to my computer this message appear: "Cannot communicate with device"

Please help me to solve this issue..

 

Thanks,

 

Tahani

 

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-21-2014
My Device: Q5

Re: Problem when Connecting BB Q5 to BlackBerry Link

Did you try using another cable.  Perhaps the cable you are using is faulty 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-06-2014
My Device: blackberry Q5

Re: Problem when Connecting BB Q5 to BlackBerry Link

Same problem here: tried 3 different cables. I can see the mass storage on the phone but I cannot sync contacts and calendar. I get the same situation on the pic above: on the left pane the phone results connected but on the right it says the same thing.

I've tried everything for 2 days now. I am sick and tired. I'll get an iPhone next time.

 

bb link version: 1.2.3.23

q5 os version: 10.2.1.2102

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-13-2014
My Device: Q10

Re: Problem when Connecting BB Q5 to BlackBerry Link

FINALLY, yesterday (2014-03-19) they released the solution, and it worked perfectly for me.

You have to install the new Microsoft .NET framework and voilà !

(not working with Win XP)

Enjoy it !
http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB35829

 

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-12-2014
My Device: Blackberry Q5

Re: Problem when Connecting BB Q5 to BlackBerry Link

I am using Windows 8.1, .NET is up to date, still unable to establish a working connection via USB to Blackberry Link. I have chosen the option to reload the software, which is a pain, but worth a try.

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-12-2014
My Device: Blackberry Q5

Re: Problem when Connecting BB Q5 to BlackBerry Link

NOTE: DO NOT RELOAD YOUR SOFTWARE - THIS WILL NOT CORRECT THE PROBLEM, IT WILL ONLY MAKE THINGS WORSE.

I knew I was going to lose all of my pictures, not a big deal. I knew I was going to lose all of my music, not a big deal. Now I can't even restore my contacts, that is a big deal.

Congratulations BlackBerry, you guys really screwed this one up.
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-13-2014
My Device: Q10

Re: Problem when Connecting BB Q5 to BlackBerry Link

Voip Guy: I'm nobody's lawer... but the warning is clearly stated... Reloading the software on your device will wipe away all your data... (or something like that...) that's why I never chose to do it and I patiently waited until the solution came up yesterday...

Best regards...

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-12-2014
My Device: Blackberry Q5

Re: Problem when Connecting BB Q5 to BlackBerry Link

Somebody had to try it though to see if it would resolve the issue. I have updated the community to let them know it did not work.

Some contacts remained, but I have to apply a backup to restore the majority that I had. This is not possible through Link at the time being. Just have to wait I guess.
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-12-2014
My Device: Blackberry Q5

Re: Problem when Connecting BB Q5 to BlackBerry Link

UPDATE: Pin pointed the issue to be an incompatibility with Windows 8.1

I can access the phone via USB for mass storage, and Link using XP, not 8.1