Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Storm™

Reply
New Developer
rjsdavis
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎01-04-2009
My Device: Not Specified

BB Storm 9500 - Appears to be locked.... Can anyone help me unlock it?

Right, I recently sold a BB Storm 9500 on Ebay. It was locked to Vodafone.

 

The buyer, appears to have screwed up the handset, and then used the Paypal dispute process to return it to me as "faulty / not as described"! It was in perfect working order when it left me.

 

Now that I have it back, when the phone is turned on, there is a handset message that says "Your current SIM card requires an unlock card. Would you like to unlock it?" WIth either a YES or NO button at the bottom.

 

Upon clicking either the YES or the NO, it does nothing else. I've rung Vodafone tech support and they claim (after a few questions) that the handset is faulty. I've been looking on the forums, and have followed the instructions from Vodafone who have now emailed me the NUC code - to unlock to all networks. However, when you get to the stage of the instructions in OPTIONS > ADVANCED OPTIONS > SIM CARD and the page there is completely blank! It's a white page!

 

I've tried entering the mepd / mep2, but it does nothing, and there is no opportunity to enter the NUC code thereafter.

 

I've done a complete security wipe of the handset and rebooted, but I just get to the exact same place, and I've also tried three different SIM cards (all Vodafone), and this makes no difference either - the problem is with the handset and not the SIM card. Can anyone point me in the right direction of what to do?

 

Thanks in advance for any help you might be able to offer.... 

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Ligarius
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-15-2011
My Device: Storm 9530
My Carrier: Virgin UK

Re: BB Storm 9500 - Appears to be locked.... Can anyone help me unlock it?

Forgive my suspicious mind, but are you absolutely sure you got the same handset back?

 

I ask because, years ago, I sold a Playstation game disc, the buyer returned it as faulty - turned out he had sent me a different disc back!

 

Sorry, can't help with the technical problem. Good luck. L

Please use plain text.
New Developer
rjsdavis
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎01-04-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BB Storm 9500 - Appears to be locked.... Can anyone help me unlock it?

Thanks very much for replying - sadly, I'm pretty sure that it is the right handset that came back - rang Vodafone when I couldn't get it to boot and run on my current SIM, and they told me that they can no longer support the handset as I've now got a new Torch and they only support the live handset!

 

They did email me the NUC code which was slightly decent of them - but sadly, because of the white screen on the handset, I can't enter it....

 

I'm wondering, as Vodafone have declined to help, and I don't want to send it back to RIM as they'll probably charge me a small fortune to fix it, if it's likely that one of these better "phone unlocking shops" that you get in most town centres might be able to do something with it?

 

PS - goes without saying that I'll be going after this character direct and through Paypal - the handset was perfect when it left me... That SOB!

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 47,204
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.1.3247), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: BB Storm 9500 - Appears to be locked.... Can anyone help me unlock it?

Hello,

 

Have you fully followed these instructions?

I didn't see anything in your post about step 5 (show keyboard)...


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Developer
rjsdavis
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎01-04-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BB Storm 9500 - Appears to be locked.... Can anyone help me unlock it?

Hi there

 

Yes - I did follow step 5. I couldn't type in the bits that I did without doing that. Sadly, when selecting "show keyboard" although the keyboard appears fine, the page remains completely blank and white, and nothing appears on the screen at all no matter what is typed.

 

I did type in the two mep parts of the code, but still nothing appeared on the screen at all.... It didn't seem to be doing anything at all!

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 47,204
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.1.3247), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: BB Storm 9500 - Appears to be locked.... Can anyone help me unlock it?

Dont' know what else to tell you...without hands on, it's pretty tough to figure out. I suggest you take it in to a technician who can evaluate it for you...if not under contract anymore, however...

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Developer
rjsdavis
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎01-04-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BB Storm 9500 - Appears to be locked.... Can anyone help me unlock it?

I can happily post JPEG's of the problem / handset if this helps?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Ligarius
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-15-2011
My Device: Storm 9530
My Carrier: Virgin UK

Re: BB Storm 9500 - Appears to be locked.... Can anyone help me unlock it?

I guess that taking it to one of the 'better' unlocking shops would be your best plan of action - at least it would physically get your phone  into the hands of an expert (we hope!) who may be able to get past the blank screen issue. If they cannot do anything with it, they probably wouldn't charge you, so nothing ventured etc.?

 

Yes, it was indeed slightly decent of Vodaphone to send you the unlock code - but the line about only supporting your current handset seems a bit rich. Considering how many billions these companies make from us regular customers, a little help is not too much to ask, in my humble opinion.

 

Fingers crossed. L

Please use plain text.
New Member
vdeol
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
My Device: Storm 2
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB Storm 9500 - Appears to be locked.... Can anyone help me unlock it?

let me know if you find the solution as i cannot type in anything either but i didnot sell it to anyone or bought used one its was brand new when i bought it thanks for any help

Please use plain text.
New Developer
rjsdavis
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎01-04-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BB Storm 9500 - Appears to be locked.... Can anyone help me unlock it?

Can you actually use your phone?

 

If not, and you bought it new, surely you'd be taking it back to the supplier with the problem for them to resolve?

Please use plain text.