Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Storm™

Reply
New Contributor
Wharf
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-23-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Data Plan

VZ says that i must subscribe to a data plan if i want a BB.

I have a TMO BB now and don't have or need a data plan. Not at 30/month anyway.

If i switch over to VZ....is there anyway to get out of the data plan requirement?

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor III
jeff1974w
Posts: 1,102
Registered: ‎12-03-2008
My Device: STORM 9530 on VERIZON 552 kbps

Re: Data Plan


Wharf wrote:

VZ says that i must subscribe to a data plan if i want a BB.

I have a TMO BB now and don't have or need a data plan. Not at 30/month anyway.

If i switch over to VZ....is there anyway to get out of the data plan requirement?


i believe that as of November of 2008 all smart phones and blackberrys purchased from VZW require a data plan.

 

if you buy one on your own, you may get away with not needing a data plan, but why have a BB or Smartphone with no plan???

 

 

If I or another member have helped, be sure to click the KUDOS!!!

If your issue has been solved, please resolve this thread by marking the post which solved it for you!

 

4.7.0.122,SLACKER, FaceDial,Poynt, Myspace, Weather Midlet, You Tube, Tiltris, logMaid, Youmail

 

http://www.rimblackberrystorm.webs.com

Please use plain text.
Contributor
Martynstar
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
My Device: Storm 9500

Re: Data Plan

I did that with my Pearl, didnt want the blackberry plan, had a very nice plan!!
have a look on this site, i used it to enter the details and get online without a data plan!

http://www.blackberryforums.com/blackberry-network/2185-blackberry-internet-msn-chat-web-telnet-tcpi...

Enjoy 

Martyn

If myself or other members have assisted please click the Kudos!

One day Blackberry will rule the world!!
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Wharf
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-23-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Data Plan

Thanks for the responses. I wasnt clear though. I would like to sign a contract with VZ......get the storm. Can I then keep the data plan for a little while and then cancel it or am i locked in for the life of the contract?
Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor III
jeff1974w
Posts: 1,102
Registered: ‎12-03-2008
My Device: STORM 9530 on VERIZON 552 kbps

Re: Data Plan

[ Edited ]

Wharf wrote:
Thanks for the responses. I wasnt clear though. I would like to sign a contract with VZ......get the storm. Can I then keep the data plan for a little while and then cancel it or am i locked in for the life of the contract?

no, your locked in, but you can change your minutes, or from a bis to bes.

 

its thier way of recouping the cost of discounting the device

Message Edited by jeff1974w on 02-23-2009 04:11 PM

If I or another member have helped, be sure to click the KUDOS!!!

If your issue has been solved, please resolve this thread by marking the post which solved it for you!

 

4.7.0.122,SLACKER, FaceDial,Poynt, Myspace, Weather Midlet, You Tube, Tiltris, logMaid, Youmail

 

http://www.rimblackberrystorm.webs.com

Please use plain text.
Contributor
Martynstar
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
My Device: Storm 9500

Re: Data Plan

i have been told by vodafone i must stay in my contract for 9months before switching, check with VZ for sure!!
If myself or other members have assisted please click the Kudos!

One day Blackberry will rule the world!!
Please use plain text.