Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Storm™

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-27-2011
My Device: Pearl 9105
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Deleting a Contact List

i hve apearl 9105.

plz help me wid that.....

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-27-2011
My Device: Pearl 9105
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Deleting a Contact List

its not coming in the service books.
help
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-24-2011
My Device: Blackberry Torch
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Deleting a Contact List

I am new to the Blackberry phone so please excuse me if my question sounds redundant.  I have also had problems with contacts.  When I copied them from my SIM card to the phone, I had a lot of duplications.  When I tried to delete the duplications, it left me with  a lot of blank lines.  I don't know how to remove those.  I think the easiest thing at this point is to delete all the contacts off the phone side and just use my SIM card as the default "contact" list.  Can anyone help? 

 

If I do the rset procedure, will it wipe out my SIM card?

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-27-2011
My Device: Pearl 9105
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Deleting a Contact List

just do the rset without the Sim card.

Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-24-2011
My Device: Blackberry Torch
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Deleting a Contact List

Do you mean take the SIM card out?

 

Also, like someone else on the forum when I went to find the screen to type rset, there was no place to type it.  When I went to "Service Books", there were two different entries referring to something concerning WI-FI.  I didn't want to delete them as I wasn't sure.  Thanks for the patience.  I'm a newbie at this.

Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-24-2011
My Device: Blackberry Torch
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Deleting a Contact List

I'm having the same problem.  I go into my contact list and then options.  I don't come up with a screen where I can type anything.  Did you ever get an answer to your question?

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-07-2010
My Device: Torch 9860

Deleting a Contact List

[ Edited ]

the missing bit of information is:
- select a contact list, and then type RSET (not case-sensitive).


 

The whole walk-through (steps tested on a Blackberry Torch, your mileage may vary):

  1. [Optional] disable all connections (wifi and mobile radio)
  2. select: Options > Device > Advanced System Settings > Service Book
  3. delete any service book that has [SYNC] appended on the end of your email address(es)
  4. Return to the Home Screen
  5. select: Contacts > press the blackberry button, select Options from the menu
  6. select any of the contact lists and type RSET (not case-sensitive)
    • this procedure resets all the contact lists, not just the one you select
    • be sure to back up your data before performing this reset
    • use at your own risk
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-17-2011
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Deleting a Contact List

That was a lovely bit of advice.

However, in my enthusiasm I deleted both the lists :Oops:

What do i do now? 

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-17-2011
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Deleting a Contact List

Need not have worried. 

Went to the email setup and resent the service books from there. 

Now the bb is synching the contacts and I'm happy :Clap:

Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-24-2011
My Device: Blackberry Torch
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Deleting a Contact List

I appreciate the response and the guidance but at this time, I have sent the BB Storm 2 back.  I had the internet added and there were just more problems in how to get everything to work.  Yes, it was a Verizon phone that I was trying to use on an AT&T network.  There were just way too many behind the scenes things to do to make the phone work.  I loved the Storm2 and was finally getting used to the screen but just too many hassles.  If I learned one thing and I can offer one piece of advise, unless you are a real "techy", buy a phone from your own provider where you can get the support you might need.  It will be well worth it.

 

I'm now looking at a torch by AT&T or else the IPhone 4, but since I'm not eligible for an update yet, I may have to put off getting a new phone for a year.  Another way, that they are taking away my freedom to do what I want.  If I buy another phone now, I will pay through the nose to purchase it.

 

Anyway, thanks for the info.:Flowers: