Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Storm™

Reply
Contributor
dushkin_alex
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-10-2013
My Device: Storm 9520
My Carrier: MoldCell MD
Accepted Solution

Device hangs on "Uploading RAM image" in the firmware loader

Hello everyone. When I try to load OS 5 on my Storm 9220, the Loader app (and DM also) hang on "Uploading RAM image" for hours and don't progress. What to do?

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 46,945
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.1.3247), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Device hangs on "Uploading RAM image" in the firmware loader

Hello!

You may also need the use of these tricks:

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
dushkin_alex
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-10-2013
My Device: Storm 9520
My Carrier: MoldCell MD

Re: Device hangs on "Uploading RAM image" in the firmware loader

It's not working. The first - did not display PIN. The second - it also hangs on "Uploading RAM". Crackberry - the same.

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 46,945
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.1.3247), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Device hangs on "Uploading RAM image" in the firmware loader

Sometimes it's a matter of timing when you connect the USB...I recall, especially with older devices, it taking sometimes a dozen or more attempts to get the timing just right, and then it was basically luck more than any science.

 

You also might try removing everything related to BB from your PC and reinstalling fresh copies of everything (Desktop Software, BB OS package). Sometimes that can help.

 

You can also try BBSAK and/or JLCmder.

 

Of course, if your BB hardware itself is faulty, then nothing we can recommend would be of any use anyway.

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
dushkin_alex
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-10-2013
My Device: Storm 9520
My Carrier: MoldCell MD

Re: Device hangs on "Uploading RAM image" in the firmware loader

But I don't understand why it hangs on the RAM uploading. The hardware cannot be faulty, because this BlackBerry was never disassembled and a few days ago it was working properly (excepting e-mail).May be it's a Parallels Windows problem, but I don\t think so.
Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 46,945
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.1.3247), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Device hangs on "Uploading RAM image" in the firmware loader

Actually, from what I've read, Parallels may actually be the root cause of your issue. You need a true Windows PC to conduct these activities.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
dushkin_alex
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-10-2013
My Device: Storm 9520
My Carrier: MoldCell MD

Re: Device hangs on "Uploading RAM image" in the firmware loader

Really?

I'll try tomorrow (now my time is midnight).
Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 46,945
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.1.3247), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Device hangs on "Uploading RAM image" in the firmware loader

[ Edited ]

From what I've read, yes. Can I attest to it personally, no.


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
dushkin_alex
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-10-2013
My Device: Storm 9520
My Carrier: MoldCell MD

Re: Device hangs on "Uploading RAM image" in the firmware loader

I'll try to install Boot Camp with Win7. May be it will work...
Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 46,945
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.1.3247), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Device hangs on "Uploading RAM image" in the firmware loader

Hmmm..."Boot Camp"...never heard of it. I prefer BBSAK and JL_CMder when such are needed. But, it may well work just fine without any of those "special" tools once you have a real Windows PC to perform the standard LOADER.EXE process on.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.